Lot 4156 - W251 Col. Fröhlich - Thursday, 01. December 2016, 9.30 AM

RARE, PAINTED CUPBOARD,

Conrad Starck (1769-1817), Appenzell, 18th century. Inscribed DIESER SCHRANK GEHÖRT DER JUNGFRAU ANNA MARIA ELISABETHA MOSSERIN 1795.
Pinewood, opulently painted with rocailles and flower vases on a blue ground, and carved with angel heads, leaves and flaming hearts. Baroque body, base with 2 drawers. Front with 2 doors and 3 pillars. The cornice features a rotatable secret compartment with 2 drawers (incomplete). Later brass mounts. Some retouching, but paintwork substantially original. Later varnish. Some rubbing. 2 keys.
222x65x200 cm.

The baroque design and the carved decoration make this an extremely rare cupboard. On the basis of the almost academic paintwork and the sculptured rocailles, this cupboard can be attributed to the Appenzell "rustic artist" Conrad Starck.
Conrad Starck, together with Bartholomäus Lämmler and Johannes Bartholomäus Thäler, is one of the most renowned "rustic artists" from the Appenzell and Toggenburg region. Examples of his art can be found in the museums of St. Gallen, Appenzell and Stein.

CHF 40 000 / 70 000

€ 35 090 / 61 400

Sold for CHF 60 000 (including buyer’s premium)
All information is subject to change.

Lot 4156 - W251 Slg. Fröhlich - Donnerstag, 01. Dezember 2016, 9.30 Uhr

SELTENER BEMALTER SCHRANK,

Conrad Starck (1769-1817), Appenzell, 18. Jh. Bezeichnet DIESER SCHRANK GEHÖRT DER JUNGFRAU ANNA MARIA ELISABETHA MOSSERIN 1795.
Nadelholz reich und fein bemalt mit Rocaillen und Blumenvasen auf blauem Grund sowie beschnitzt mit Engelsköpfen, Blättern und geflammtem Herzen. Barocker, leicht trapezförmiger Kasten mit Bogengiebel auf zweischübigem Sockel. Front mit 2 Türen zwischen 3 Pilastern. Im Kranz ein drehbares Geheimfach mit 2 Schubladen (unvollständig). Spätere Messingbeschläge. Retuschen, jedoch weitgehend originale Fassung. Späterer Firnis. Stellenweise etwas berieben. 2 Schlüssel.
222x65x200 cm.

In seiner barocken Form und dem geschnitzten applizierten Dekor äusserst seltener Schrank, der auf Grund der beinahe akademischen Bemalung und der plastisch wirkenden Rocaillen dem Appenzeller "Bauernmaler" Conrad Starck zugeschrieben werden kann.
Conrad Starck zählt neben Bartholomäus Lämmler und Johannes Bartholomäus Thäler zu den bekanntesten "Bauernmalern" aus dem Raum Appenzell und Toggenburg. Zeugen seiner Handwerkskunst sind in den Museen in St. Gallen, Appenzell und Stein zu sehen.

CHF 40 000 / 70 000

€ 37 380 / 65 420

Verkauft für CHF 60 000 (inkl. Aufgeld)
Angaben ohne Gewähr