Lot 3437 - A185 PostWar & Contemporary - Saturday, 30. June 2018, 02.00 PM

VICTOR VASARELY

(Pecs 1908 - 1997 Paris)
KEZDI-DOMB. 1968/75.
Acrylic on canvas.
Signed lower centre: VASARELY, also signed, dated, titled and with measurements on the reverse: VASARELY KEZDI-DOMB 160x160 1968/75.
160 x 160 cm.

The authenticity has been confirmed by Pierre Vasarely, Fondation Vasarely, Aix-en-Provence, May 2018. We thank Pierre Vasarely for his kind support.
This work will be included in the forthcoming "Catalogue raisonné de l’oeuvre peint de Victor Vasarely".

Provenance:
- Galerie Semiha Huber, Zurich (verso with the label).
- By descent to the present owner, since then private collection Switzerland.

“... The two creative expressions of man, art and science, meet again to form an imaginary construct that is in accord with our sensibility and contemporary knowledge.” Victor Vasarely

Before the Hungarian-born Victor Vasarely was to pursue his career in art, he studied medicine in Budapest. In 1927 he abandoned his studies and began a traditional painting course at the Podolni-Volkmann Art Academy, before he switched to the Mühely Academy in 1929. Here, while immersed in the Bauhaus-oriented training, he was able to pursue to the full his tendency to connect mathematical principles with artistic expression.

Initially, however, his reduced graphic style only met with a positive response in the advertising sector, for which he made numerous commissioned works, even after his move to Paris in 1930. The decade that followed finally brought him his due recognition as a fine artist, after his works were shown in the “Salon des Surindependants” (1945 & 1946), the “Salon de Realités Nouvelles” (1947) and the renowned Denise René Gallery (1944 & 1948).

He enjoyed this initial success with an abstract style, which in composition was somewhat reminiscent of Le Corbusier or Piet Mondrian. Looking back, however, this abstract phase was a decisive stage in the path towards nonfigurative form. It shows Vasarely’s route to be a plausible development, from reduction, to a complete renunciation of figural role models. Victor Vasarely’s essential trust in a pure formal arrangement of the pictorial surface was drawn not least from his profound understanding of geometric structures. On that basis he founded the movement which used optical illusions in its compositions, today known as “Op Art”.

One of the most distinctive forms from Vasarely’s Op Art oeuvre, is the round form rolling forwards, produced as a series and initially entitled “Vega” in 1968. 1968 was also the year when he increasingly integrated highly contrasting, saturated colours into his constructive patterns.

The work offered here at auction, “KEZDI-DOMB”, dates precisely from this key year and illustrates in exemplary fashion the compositional characteristics of this striking period of work: the round body which pushes out from the square pictorial space, is underpinned by a rich mesh of red, blue and green tones, which extend a net of square and round surfaces. Thus, the pattern of the individual colour surfaces reflects the kinetic tension between the rectangular canvas and the illusion of the round form. A kind of cross-reference is created between the micro- and macrocosm.

“KEZDI-DOMB” stands for a reflection on the form within its own structure: it is an independent work of art and the expression of a conceptual position at the same time.

Victor Vasarely’s works were shown at the Documenta exhibitions from 1955 to 1968, and today are represented in the most important collections, such as the Städel in Frankfurt and the Pinakothek in Munich, as well as the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim and the LACMA, to name but a few.

CHF 90 000 / 160 000

€ 78 950 / 140 350

Sold for CHF 198 500 (including buyer’s premium)
All information is subject to change.

Lot 3437 - A185 PostWar & Contemporary - Samstag, 30. Juni 2018, 14.00 Uhr

VICTOR VASARELY

(Pecs 1908 - 1997 Paris)
KEZDI-DOMB. 1968/75.
Acryl auf Leinwand.
Unten mittig signiert: VASARELY, sowie verso signiert, datiert, betitelt und mit Massangaben: VASARELY KEZDI-DOMB 160x160 1968/75.
160 x 160 cm.

Die Authentizität dieses Werkes wurde von Herrn Pierre Vasarely, Fondation Vasarely, Aix-en-Provence, im Mai 2018, bestätigt. Wir danken Pierre Vasarely für die freundliche Unterstützung.
Das Werk wird in den in Vorbereitung befindlichen "Catalogue raisonné de l'oeuvre peint de Victor Vasarely" aufgenommen.

Provenienz:
- Galerie Semiha Huber, Zürich (verso mit dem Etikett).
- Durch Erbschaft an den heutigen Besitzer, seitdem Privatsammlung Schweiz.

„Die zwei kreativen Ausdrucksformen des Menschen, Kunst und Wissenschaft, werden sich treffen und ein imaginäres Konstrukt bilden, das im Einklang mit unserer Empfindsamkeit und dem zeitgenössischen Wissen steht.“ - Victor Vasarely.

Bevor er die Laufbahn zur Kunst einschlägt, studiert der gebürtige Ungar Medizin in Budapest. 1927 bricht er damit und beginnt ein klassisches Malereistudium an der Kunstakademie Podolni-Volkmann, bevor er 1929 an die Mühely Akademie wechselt. Hier, inmitten einer am Bauhaus orientierten Lehre, kann er seiner Neigung zur Verbindung mathematischer Grundsätze mit künstlerischem Ausdruck vollends nachgehen.

Allerdings findet sein grafisch reduzierter Stil zunächst nur Anklang im Werbesegment, für das er zahlreiche Auftragsarbeiten, auch nach seinem Umzug nach Paris 1930, anfertigt. Das darauffolgende Jahrzehnt bringt ihm dann endlich die gebührende Anerkennung als bildender Künstler, nachdem seine Werke im „Salon des Surindependants“ (1945 & 1946), im „Salon de Realités Nouvelles“ (1947) und in der renommierten Denise René Galerie (1944 & 1948) ausgestellt werden.

Diese ersten Erfolge geniesst er zunächst mit einem abstrakten Stil, der an Kompositionen eines Le Corbusier oder Piet Mondrian erinnert. Rückblickend bildet diese Phase der Abstraktion allerdings eine entscheidende Etappe auf dem Weg zur nonfigurativen Form. Sie zeigt den Werdegang Vasarelys als eine plausible Entwicklung von der Reduktion bis hin zur kompletten Entsagung figürlicher Vorbilder. Jenes Urvertrauen auf eine rein formale Ausgestaltung der Bildfläche schöpft Victor Vasarely nicht zuletzt aus seinem tiefgreifenden Verständnis geometrischer Strukturen. Auf dieser Basis begründet er auch die heute als „Op Art“ bekannte Stilrichtung optisch-illusionistischer Kompositionen.

Eine der prägnantesten Formationen aus Vasarely’s Op Art Oeuvre, ist die sich nach vorne ballende Rundform, die er 1968 in serieller Anfertigung zunächst mit „Vega“ betitelt. 1968 markiert auch das Jahr, in dem er zunehmend kontrastreiche, satte Farben in seine konstruktiven Muster integriert.

Das hier zur Auktion angebotene Werk „KEZDI-DOMB“ stammt exakt aus diesem Schlüsseljahr und führt die kompositionellen Eigenschaften dieser markanten Schaffensperiode geradezu beispielhaft auf: der aus dem quadratischen Bildraum drängende Rundkorpus unterliegt einem satten Geflecht aus Rot-, Blau- und Grüntönen, die wiederum ein Netz aus quadratischen und runden Flächen spannen. Somit spiegelt das Muster der einzelnen Farbflächen das kinetische Spannungsverhältnis zwischen der (rechteckigen) Leinwand und der (runden) Illusionsform. Es entsteht ein Art Querverweis zwischen Mikro- und Makrokosmos.
"KEZDI-DOMB" steht für eine Reflexion über die Form inmitten ihres eigenen Gefüges: Es ist eigenständiges Kunstwerk und Ausdruck einer konzeptuellen Grundhaltung zugleich.

Victor Vasarelys Arbeiten waren von 1955 bis 1968 auf den documenta Ausstellungen zu sehen und sind heutzutage in den bedeutendsten Sammlungen vertreten, so im Städel in Frankfurt und den Pinakotheken in München, sowie im Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim und dem LACMA, um nur einzelne, ausgewählte Beispiele zu nennen.

CHF 90 000 / 160 000

€ 84 110 / 149 530

Verkauft für CHF 198 500 (inkl. Aufgeld)
Angaben ohne Gewähr