I am already registered - Login:


Don't have an account yet?

Click here to register



Lot 3499* - A187 PostWar & Contemporary - Saturday, 08. December 2018, 02.00 PM

HAEGUE YANG

(Seoul 1971–lives and works in Berlin and Seoul)
Manteuffelstrasse 112: Workroom Radiator Left. 2009.
Metal frame, blinds, light bulb and extension cords.
Edition 3/3.
43 x 63 x 16 cm.

With the artist's and Kuje Gallery's confirmation of authenticity.

Provenance:
- Kukje Gallery, Seoul.
- Purchased from the above by the present owner in 2009, since then private collection Italy.

Haegue Yang was born in Seoul in 1971 where she completed her studies in 1994 at the Fine Arts College of the National University. After moving to Germany, she studied at the Städelschule in Frankfurt and finalised her studies as a masters student under Georg Herold in 1999. After having taken part in numerous international exhibitions, the Sao Paulo Art Biennial in 2006 and the Turin Triennale in 2008, in 2009 she represented Korea in the 53rd Venice Biennale. Three years later she was represented with an impressive work at the 13th Documenta in Kassel. In 2018 she was awarded the Wolfgang-Hahn Prize. She now teaches at the Städelschule in Frankfurt.

In her comprehensive, installation-based oeuvre, Haegue Yang tells stories, of which the viewer is unaware, because of the abstract quality of her sculptures. She uses everyday objects and household appliances, removes them from their functional contexts and gives them a new meaning. In the first instance the viewer experiences these fascinating, unusual works, their individual elements evoking associations and their movement and light evoking emotions. Melancholy and romance reside in all the works of the Korean artist.

In 2009/2010 she was invited by VBL Legal Chambers in Rome to redesign the premises of the chambers in order to create a significant change to the working environment. Yang produced seven “Appliance Sculptures”, as they were called, which in their dimensions corresponded exactly to the radiators in her apartment and studio in Manteuffelstrasse, hence the title of the exhibition and the sculptures.

The work offered here corresponds to the left-hand radiator in her workshop. Within a metal frame, she arranges light bulbs, slats and cables – all the materials which one finds over and over again in Yang’s work. She meticulously abstracts the radiator, the physical model for the sculpture, in order at the same time to lend warmth through the slats and light bulbs, which yet again recall the original function. She removes the function from the device and by artistic means lends the newly created sculpture the associations of the original function.

With unbelievable consistency she creates a fascinating oeuvre positioned between sculpture and installation.


CHF 5 000 / 7 000 | (€ 4 670 / 6 540)

Sold for CHF 9 375 (including buyer’s premium)
All information is subject to change.

Ich bin bereits registriert - Login:


Sie haben noch kein Login?

Klicken Sie hier um sich zu registrieren



Lot 3499* - A187 PostWar & Contemporary - Samstag, 08. Dezember 2018, 14.00 Uhr

HAEGUE YANG

(Seoul 1971–lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und Seoul)
Manteuffelstrasse 112: Workroom Radiator Left. 2009.
Metallrahmen, Lamellen, Glühbirnen und Kabel.
Auflage 3/3.
43 x 63 x 16 cm.

Mit der Bestätigung der Authentizität der Künstlerin und der Kukje Gallery, Seoul.

Provenienz:
- Kujke Gallery, Seoul.
- Bei obiger Galerie 2009 vom heutigen Besitzer erworben, seitdem Privatsammlung Italien.

Haegue Yang wird 1971 in Seoul geboren, wo sie 1994 ihren Abschluss am Fine Arts College der National University macht. Nach ihrem Umzug nach Deutschland studiert sie an der Städelschule in Frankfurt und beendet dort 1999 als Meisterschülerin von Georg Herold ihr Studium. Nach Teilnahmen an zahlreichen internationalen Ausstellungen, der Sao Paulo Art Biennial 2006 und der Turin Triennale 2008 repräsentiert sie 2009 Korea auf der 53. Venedig Biennale. Drei Jahre später ist sie mit einer eindrücklichen Arbeit auf der 13. Documenta in Kassel vertreten. 2018 wird ihr der Wolfgang-Hahn Preis verliehen. Sie ist Professorin an der Städelschule in Frankfurt.

In ihrem umfassenden, installativen Oeuvre erzählt Haegue Yang Geschichten, die dem Betrachter durch die Abstraktion ihrer Sklupturen aber nicht bewusst sind. Sie nutzt Alltagsgegenstände und Haushaltsgeräte, löst diese aus ihren funktionalen Zusammenhängen und gibt ihnen neue Bedeutung. Im ersten Augenblick erlebt der Betrachter diese faszinierenden, ungewöhnlichen Arbeiten, deren einzelne Elemente Assoziationen und deren Bewegung und Licht Emotionen hervorrufen. Melancholie und Romantik wohnen allen Werken der Koreanerin inne.

2009/2010 wird sie von der Kanzlei VBL in Rom gebeten, Räume der Kanzlei neu zu gestalten, so dass die Arbeitsumgebung eine signifikante Veränderung erlebt. Yang erschafft sieben sogenannte „Appliance Sculptures“, die in den Massen exakt den Heizkörpern in ihrer Wohnung und ihrem Atelier in der Manteuffelstrasse entsprechen – so auch der Titel der Ausstellung und der Skulpturen.

Das bei uns angebotene Werk entspricht dem linken Heizkörper in ihrer Werkstatt. In einem Metallrahmen arrangiert sie Glühbirnen, Lamellen und Kabel, alles Materialien, die man in Yangs Werk immer wieder findet. Sie abstrahiert den Heizkörper, die physische Vorlage der Skulptur, minutiös, um ihm gleichzeitig durch die Lamellen und Glühbirnen Wärme zu verleihen, die wiederum an die ursprüngliche Funktion erinnert. Sie nimmt dem Gerät seine Funktion und verleiht der neugeschaffenen Skulptur durch künstlerische Mittel die Assoziation der ursprünglichen Funktion.

Mit einer unglaublichen Konsequenz schafft sie ein faszinierendes Oeuvre zwischen Skulptur und Installation.

CHF 5 000 / 7 000 | (€ 5 000 / 7 000)

Verkauft für CHF 9 375 (inkl. Aufgeld)
Angaben ohne Gewähr