Lot 1012 - A190 Furniture, Porcelain & Silver - Thursday, 26. September 2019, 10.00 AM

RARE TAPESTRY "Tobias mit dem Fisch" ("Tobias with the Fish"),

Brussels, ca. 1530/40. Based on the models of a successor of Bernard van Orley.
Depiction of Tobias with the Fish, with the Angel Raphael behind him. With a broad border featuring flowers and fruits, and birds. Slightly faded. Some repairs.
350x430 cm.

With an expert opinion by Prof. Guy Delmarcel. Boechout 2019.

The scene depicted shows the moment when Tobias is attacked by a great sea monster (The Book of Tobit, Chapter 6,2). His companion, the Angel Raphael, encourages him to catch the fish. In the background (on the left), Tobias lays the fish on the ground and Raphael points in the direction of his further path.

Summary of the expert opinion:

The tapestry on offer here is part of a series of different motifs about the life of Tobias. A version with similar borders and figures, an eight-part series, is kept in the Museum of Art History in Vienna; another version is in the National Museum of Decorative Arts in Buenos Aires. While our tapestry is not signed, the Viennese series shows the coat of arms of the city of Brussels. Two of the tapestries have not been identified, but one can be assigned to Frans Gheteels, who was active around 1540. The designs refer to Bernard van Orley and his workshop.
The episode with the fish is missing both in Buenos Aires and in the Viennese series. Depictions of this episode, but in a later version, can be found in the Royal Spanish Collection in Madrid and in the Cathedral of Palma de Mallorca. However, our tapestry is much more elegant and refers strongly to the series in Vienna. Numerous details refer to the same design. For example, the robe of the Angel Raphael is very similar to the Viennese series, as is the bird (a heron or a stork) in the lower right-hand corner of the border.

Lit.: Guy Delmarcel, Flemish Tapestry, New York, Harry N. Abrams, 2000.

CHF 10 000 / 15 000

€ 8 770 / 13 160

Sold for CHF 33 850 (including buyer’s premium)
All information is subject to change.

Lot 1012 - A190 Möbel, Porzellan & Silber - Donnerstag, 26. September 2019, 10.00 Uhr

SELTENE TAPISSERIE "Tobias mit dem Fisch",

Brüssel, um 1530/40. Nach Vorbildern eines Nachfolgers von Bernard van Orley.
Darstellung des Tobias mit dem Fisch, dahinter der Engel. Mit breiter Blumen- und Früchtebordüre mit Vögeln. Etwas ausgebleicht, Reparaturen.
350x430 cm

Mit Gutachten von Prof. Guy Delmarcel. Boechout 2019.

Die dargestellte Szene zeigt den Moment als Tobias von einem grossen Seemonster angegriffen wird (Das Buch Tobit, Kapitel 6,2). Sein Begleiter Engel Raphael ermutigt ihn, den Fisch zu fangen. Im Hintergrund auf der linken Seite legt Tobias den Fisch am Boden und Raphael zeigt in die Richtung ihres weiteren Weges.

Zusammenfassung des Gutachtens:

Die hier angebotene Tapisserie ist Teil einer Folge von verschiedenen Motiven zum Leben des Tobias. Eine Ausführung mit ähnlichen Bordüren und Figuren, achtteilige Folge, ist aufbewahrt im Kunsthistorischen Museum, Wien; eine weitere im Museo Nacional de Arte Decorativo in Buenos Aires. Während unsere Tapisserie nicht signiert ist, weist die Wiener Serie das Zeichen der Stadt Brüssel auf. Zwei davon sind nicht identifiziert, eine kann jedoch Frans Gheteels zugewiesen werden, der um 1540 tätig war. Die Entwürfe dazu verweisen auf Bernard van Orley und sein Atelier.
Die Episode mit dem Fisch fehlt sowohl in Bueonos Aires als auch in der Wiener Serie. Darstellungen dieser Episode, jedoch in einer späteren Ausführung finden sich in der königlichen Spanischen Sammlung in Madrid sowie in der Kathedrale von Palma de Mallorca. Unsere Tapisserie ist jedoch viel eleganter und verweist stark auf die Serie in Wien. Zahlreiche Details weisen auf den selben Entwurf hin. Das Kleid des Engels Raphael weist etwa grosse Ähnlichkeit auf, ebenso der Vogel (ein Reiher oder Storch) im unteren rechten Eck der Bordüre.


Lit.: Guy Delmarcel, Flemish Tapestry, New York, Harry N. Abrams, 2000.

CHF 10 000 / 15 000

€ 8 770 / 13 160

Verkauft für CHF 33 850 (inkl. Aufgeld)
Angaben ohne Gewähr