Lot 3485 - A191 PostWar & Contemporary - Saturday, 07. December 2019, 02.00 PM

TOM OTTERNESS

(Wichita 1952 - lives and works in New York)
Money bag man with ball and chain. 1995.
Bronze, patinated in brown.
With the incised signature and date on the backside of the feet: OTTERNESS 1995, also inscribed: AP.
89 x 47 x 43 cm.

This work is an artist proof outside the edition of 6.

Provenance:
- Marlborough Galleries, New York.
- Purchased from the above in 1997 by the present owner, since then private collection Switzerland.

Tom Otterness was born in Wichita, Canada in 1952. After completing his studies at the Arts Student League in New York in 1970, in 1973 he took part in the Student Program at the Whitney Museum. Four years later Otterness joined the New York artists’ association “Collaborative Projects” (Colad) and in 1980 he organised the highly respected exhibition “Times Square Show”.

He made a conscious decision to take his sculptures away from the pedestal and the gallery, in order to make them accessible to everyone. He had the opportunity to do so with numerous public contracts. With his installation in Battersea Park he went one step further, in that his works could be accessed physically and were planned as part of a play area. Probably his most famous installation is to be found at 14th Street Station, where countless small sculptures form part of the life of daily commuters. They are seated on a bench or are standing on a stairway landing: workers, businesspeople, police, youths – a cross section of the population of New York. His pictorial language is unmistakable: his figures always appear cheerful, and have round or partly spherical heads as well as bodies, which makes them likeable from the outset.

The work presented here “Money bag man with ball and chain” shows a corpulent rounded figure standing on a ball, to which he is fastened by a thick chain. His head has been replaced with a money bag. Where his face should be is a large dollar sign, where his hair should be is the tied end of the bag. His suit and waistcoat and his posture with his arms crossed on his back, lend a certain seriousness and create a clear association with the upper classes. This depiction can be traced back to the cartoons of the German-American Thomas Nast, who is seen as the founder of the American cartoon in the 2nd half of the 19th century. He uses the “money bag” in his cartoons in order to denounce extortion and exploitation.

Through his sculptures with their friendly appearance, Otterness also criticises the “money bags” who limit and “shackle” themselves through their unconditional belief in money.

Entirely in the spirit of Pop Art and Street Art, Tom Otterness uses a cheerful and non-committal front in order to carry out his critique of society and its excesses.

CHF 40 000 / 60 000

€ 35 090 / 52 630

Lot 3485 - A191 PostWar & Contemporary - Samstag, 07. Dezember 2019, 14.00 Uhr

TOM OTTERNESS

(Wichita 1952 - lebt und arbeitet in New York)
Money bag man with ball and chain. 1995.
Bronze, braun patiniert.
Auf der Rückseite der Füsse mit der eingeritzten Signatur und Datierung: OTTERNESS 1995, sowie bezeichnet: AP.
89 x 47 x 43 cm.

Es handelt sich um einen Artist Proof ausserhalb der Auflage von 6.

Provenienz:
- Marlborough Galleries, New York.
- Bei obiger Galerie 1997 vom heutigen Besitzer erworben, seitdem Privatsammlung Schweiz.

Tom Otterness wird 1952 in Wichita, Kanada geboren. Nach seinem Studium 1970 an der Arts Student League in New York, nimmt er 1973 am Independent Student Program des Whitney Museum teil. Vier Jahre später schliesst sich Otterness der New Yorker Künstlervereinigung „Collaborative Projects (Colad)" an und organisiert 1980 die viel beachtete Ausstellung Times Square Show.

Bewusst entscheidet er sich, seine Skulpturen vom Sockel und aus der Galerie zu holen, um sie Jedermann zugänglich zu machen. Zahlreiche öffentliche Aufträge geben ihm die Möglichkeit dies zu tun. Mit der Installation im Battersea Park geht er noch einen Schritt weiter, in dem seine Werke begehbar werden und als Teil des Spielplatzes geplant sind. Seine wohl bekannteste Installation befindet sich in der 14th Street Station, wo unzählige kleine Skulpturen am Leben der täglichen Pendler teilnehmen. Sie sitzen auf einer Bank oder stehen auf dem Treppenabsatz; Arbeiter, Geschäftsleute, Polizisten, Jugendliche – ein Querschnitt durch die New Yorker Bevölkerung. Dabei ist seine Bildsprache unverkennbar: seine Figuren schauen immer fröhlich drein, haben runde, teils kugelrunde Köpfe wie auch Körper, was sie auf Anhieb sympatisch macht.

Das hier angebotene Werk „Money bag man with ball and chain“ zeigt eine dicke, rundliche Figur auf einer Kugel stehend, an die er mit einer dicken Kette gebunden ist. Der Kopf ist durch einen Geldsack ersetzt. Wo das Gesicht sein sollte befindet sich ein grosses Dollar-Zeichen, wo die Haare sein sollten, ist das zugebundene Ende des Sacks. Der Anzug mit Weste sowie die Haltung mit auf dem Rücken verschränkten Armen verleiht ihr eine gewisse Ernsthaftigkeit und macht eine eindeutige Zuordnung in eine gehobene Gesellschaftsschicht. Zurückführen kann man diese Darstellung auf die Cartoons des Deutschamerikaners Thomas Nast, der in der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts als Begründer des amerikanischen Cartoons gesehen wird. Er nutzt in seinen Cartoons den „Geldsack“, um Wucher und Ausbeutung anzuprangern.

Auch Otterness übt mit seinen freundlich aussehenden Skulpturen Kritik an den „Geldsäcken“, die sich durch ihren unbedingten Glauben an Geld selbst einschränken und „Fesseln“ anlegen.

Ganz im Sinne der Pop Art und der Street Art nutzt Tom Otterness eine fröhliche und unverbindliche Fassade, um Kritik an der Gesellschaft und ihren Auswüchsen zu üben.

CHF 40 000 / 60 000

€ 35 090 / 52 630

Verkauft für CHF 49 100 (inkl. Aufgeld)
Angaben ohne Gewähr