Compulsory auction - Please note the special bidding terms of the FCA.
Lot 3806 - S16 Modern & Contemporary Art Compulsory auction -

ROBERT INDIANA

(New Castle 1928 - 2018 Vinalhaven)
Chief. 1969.
Oil on canvas.
Signed and dated on the overlap on the reverse: R. Indiana 1969, also with the stamp on the reverse: INDIANA NEW YORK 69 2.
61 x 56 x 4 cm.

Provenance:
- Galerie Gmurzynka, Zug (with label on the reverse).
- Private property Switzerland, aquired at the above gallery in 2008.

Unlike Andy Warhol and Roy Lichtenstein, Robert Indiana’s focus is America’s cultural identity, so that what interests him above all is the relationship between individual and national identity and the socio-political changes of the 1960s.

In 1947 the young Robert Indiana undertook a trip through the South West of the United States, using presumably the now famous Super Chief train. This train runs the stretch between Chicago and Los Angeles and with its red and yellow paintwork with the head of a Native American chief as emblem, it cannot be missed. Presumably also on this journey, Indiana began to be interested in the history of the Native Americans and their social status in the United States. While the films and media of the time did not spare the negative stereotypes of Native Americans, the artist’s experiences were probably distinct from that.

Robert Indiana is known for his use of symbolic lettering – there is hardly anyone who does not know his “LOVE” sculptures. The word “Chief” appears for the first time in 1962 on a wooden sculpture. The work presented here from 1969 is reminiscent of a simplified Coca-Cola lettering, behind which the sun appears to rise with bright red and yellow rays. Robert Indiana plays with our associations to great effect, and with a word and two colours takes us to the heart of American society. The lettering, inspired by Coca-Cola, directs us to American consumer society, the rising sun could symbolise the American Dream and the English word “Chief” is inextricably linked to the idea of Native Americans.

Minimum hammer price
CHF 79 500 (€ 69 740)

Zwangsversteigerung – bitte beachten sie die speziellen Steigerungsbedingungen der EZV.
Lot 3806 - S16 Moderne & Zeitgenössische Kunst Zwangsversteigerung - Dienstag, 22. Juni 2021, 14.00 Uhr

ROBERT INDIANA

(New Castle 1928 - 2018 Vinalhaven)
Chief. 1969.
Öl auf Leinwand.
Verso auf dem Overlap signiert und datiert: R. Indiana 1969, sowie verso mit dem Stempel: INDIANA NEW YORK 69 2.
61 x 56 x 4 cm.

Provenienz:
- Galerie Gmurzynka, Zug (verso mit Etikett).
- Privatbesitz Schweiz, bei obiger Galerie 2008 erworben.

Anders als Andy Warhol und Roy Lichtenstein ist Robert Indianas Schwerpunkt die kulturelle Identität Amerikas, wobei ihn vor allem die Beziehung zwischen individueller und nationaler Identität und die soziopolitischen Veränderungen in den 1960er Jahren interessieren.

1947 unternimmt der junge Robert Indiana eine Reise durch den Südwesten der USA und nutzt dabei wahrscheinlich den heute berühmten „SuperChief“- Zug. Dieser fährt die Strecke zwischen Chicago und Los Angeles und kann durch seine rot-gelbe Bemalung mit dem Kopf eines Indianer-Häuptlings als Emblem nicht übersehen werden. Vermutlich auch auf dieser Reise beginnt sich Indiana für die Geschichte der Indianer und deren gesellschaftliche Stellung in den USA zu interessieren. Während die Filme und Medien dieser Zeit mit negativen Stereotypen über amerikanische Ureinwohner nicht sparen, sind die Erfahrungen des Künstlers wohl differenzierter.

Robert Indiana ist bekannt für die Nutzung symbolischer Schriftzüge – kaum jemand kennt nicht seine „LOVE“ Skulpturen. Das Wort „Chief“ findet sich erstmals 1962 auf einer Holzskulptur. Das hier angebotene Werk von 1969 erinnert in seinem Schriftbild an einen vereinfachten Coca-Cola Schriftzug, hinter dem die Sonne mit leuchtend rot-gelben Strahlen aufzugehen scheint. Eindrücklich spielt Robert Indiana mit unseren Assoziationen und bringt uns mit einem Wort und zwei Farben ins Herz der amerikanischen Gesellschaft. Der an Coco-Cola angelehnte Schriftzug lenkt uns zur amerikanischen Konsumgesellschaft, die aufgehende Sonne könnte den American Dream symbolisieren und das englische Wort „Chief“ ist unlöslich mit der Idee der Amerikanischen Ureinwohner verbunden.

Mindestzuschlagspreis:
CHF 84 000 (€ 78 500)