Lot 3419 - A199 PostWar & Contemporary - Thursday, 02. December 2021, 04.00 PM

OLLE BAERTLING

(Halmstadt 1911–1981 Stockholm)
Iraba. 1962.
Oil on canvas.
Signed, dated and with measurements on the reverse: Baertling 1962 81 × 130, also titled, again dated and with measurements on the stretcher: IRABA 1962 81 × 130. Described on the overlap: HAUT and described on the stretcher: BAS.
81 × 130 cm.

Provenance: Private collection Switzerland.

"Bærtling's system can be understood as a response to Mondrian, for every decision Bærtling makes is both a confirmation of and in opposition to that pioneer." Kay Heymer.

The Swedish painter Olle Bærtling was born in Halmstad in 1911. He was one of the most influential representatives of Concrete Art in Scandinavia.

At the beginning of his artistic career he was deeply rooted in Nordic expressive painting. His early paintings show the influence of Henri Matisse, even though Bærtling's works do not emulate the great emotionality of the French master, but are characterised by a certain distance within the representation. Between 1945 and 1948, this detachment led to more and more expressive figurative elements disappearing from his œuvre, and striking colour surfaces playing an increasingly important role in his compositions.

In the late 1940s, Bærtling's desire to work internationally took him time and again to Paris, where he worked first with André Lhote and then with Fernand Léger. While Lhote rejected Bærtling's artistic development towards abstraction, the positive interaction with Léger led the Swede to devote himself exclusively to non-representational painting from 1949 onwards. His encounter with Auguste Herbin and being accepted by Galerie Denise René, which at the time served as a platform for all the important abstract painters, provided him with additional orientation.

In 1954, Olle Bærtling found his definitive system, which underwent repeated adjustments, but in principle did not change. Two elements are crucial: the pictorial concept and the colour. While different geometric forms can still be found in the first abstract paintings, these have completely disappeared by 1954. His pictorial concept is composed of areas of colour, separated by black lines. These lines, which are always the same thickness and slightly curved, only cross at the edges of the picture. In this way, he creates an open composition without a pictorial centre, which is determined by directional impulses beyond the edge of the picture. This spatial effect is further enhanced by the fact that he hangs the works at some distance from the wall. A reduction in colour is also deployed and, unlike many fellow artists, he relies on secondary colours. While in the 1950s he still combined a wide variety of colours, in the 1960s Bærtling concentrated on black and violet, and in the 1970s he contrasted reds with purples.

The present work "Iraba" from 1962 is an outstanding example of his mature 1960s style. The extreme landscape format is dominated by the black and purple areas. The black contour lines meet at the lower edge of the picture, so that the directional impulses of the colour areas radiate out to all sides.

Despite many similarities with Piet Mondrian, Josef Albers, Victor Vasarely, but also Bridget Riley, Olle Bærtling, with his open composition and use of colour, succeeded spectacularly in developing his own recognisable signature style.

CHF 35 000 / 55 000

€ 32 710 / 51 400

Lot 3419 - A199 PostWar & Contemporary - Donnerstag, 02. Dezember 2021, 16.00 Uhr

OLLE BAERTLING

(Halmstadt 1911–1981 Stockholm)
Iraba. 1962.
Öl auf Leinwand.
Verso signiert, datiert und mit Massangaben: Baertling 1962 81 × 130, sowie auf dem Keilrahmen betitelt, nochmals datiert und mit Massangaben: IRABA 1962 81 × 130. Auf der Leinwandüberlappung bezeichnet: HAUT und auf dem Keilrahmen bezeichnet: BAS.
81 × 130 cm.

Provenienz: Privatsammlung Schweiz.

„Bærtlings System lässt sich als Antwort auf Mondrian verstehen, denn jede Entscheidung Bærtlings ist gleichzeitig Bestätigung und Widerspruch zu diesem Pionier.“ Kay Heymer

1911 wird der schwedische Maler Olle Bærtling in Halmstad geboren. Er gehört zu den einflussreichsten Vertretern der Konkreten Kunst in Skandivanien.

Zu Beginn seiner künstlerischen Karriere ist er tief in der nordisch expressiven Malerei verwurzelt. Seine frühen Gemälde zeigen den Einfluss Henri Matisse‘, auch wenn Bærtlings Werke nicht der grossen Emotionalität des französischen Meisters folgen, sondern sich durch eine gewisse Distanz innerhalb der Darstellung auszeichnen. Diese Distanziertheit führt zwischen 1945-48 dazu, dass das expressiv figürliche immer mehr aus seinem Œuvre weicht und prägnante Farbflächen in seinen Kompositionen eine immer wichtigere Rolle spielen.

Dem Wunsch auch international zu agieren folgend, zieht es Bærtling in den späten 1940er Jahren immer wieder nach Paris, wo er zuerst bei André Lhote und dann bei Fernand Léger arbeitet. Während Lhote Bærtlings künstlerische Entwicklung hin zur Abstraktion ablehnt, führt die positive Auseinandersetzung mit Léger dazu, dass sich der Schwede ab 1949 ausschliesslich der ungegenständlichen Malerei widmet. Die Begegnung mit Auguste Herbin und die Aufnahme in die Galerie Denise René, die zu der Zeit als Plattform für alle wichtigen abstrakten Maler fungiert, bietet ihm eine zusätzliche Orientierung.

1954 findet Olle Bærtling sein endgültiges System, das immer wieder Anpassung erfährt, sich aber im Prinzip nicht mehr ändert. Dabei sind zwei Elemente entscheidend: das Bildkonzept und die Farbe. Während in den ersten abstrakten Gemälden noch unterschiedliche geometrische Formen zu finden sind, verschwinden diese bis 1954 gänzlich. Sein Bildkonzept setzt sich aus Farbflächen zusammen, die durch schwarze Linien getrennt sind. Diese immer gleich dicken, leicht geschwungenen Linien kreuzen sich nur an den Bildrändern. Somit erschafft er eine offene Komposition ohne Bildzentrum, die durch Richtungsimpulse über den Bildrand hinaus bestimmt ist. Verstärkt wird dieser räumliche Effekt noch dadurch, dass er die Werke mit einigem Abstand zur Wand hängt. Auch in der Farbe setzt eine Reduktion ein und, im Unterschied zu vielen Künstlerkollegen, setzt er auf Sekundärfarben. Während er in den 1950er Jahren noch unterschiedlichste Farbtöne kombiniert, konzentriert sich Bærtling in den 1960er Jahren auf Schwarz und Violett und kontrastiert in den 70ern Rottöne gegen Purpur.

Das vorliegende Werk „Iraba“ von 1962 ist ein herausragendes Beispiel seines reifen Stils der 1960er Jahre. Das extreme Querformat wird durch die schwarzen und violetten Farbflächen geprägt. Die schwarzen Konturlinien treffen sich am unteren Bildrand, so dass die Richtungsimpluse der Farbflächen zu allen Seiten ausstrahlen.

Trotz vieler Gemeinsamkeiten mit Piet Mondrian, Josef Albers, Victor Vasarely aber auch Bridget Riley ist es Olle Bærtling mit seiner offenen Komposition und der Farbgestaltung eindrucksvoll gelungen, seine eigene, wiedererkennbare Handschrift zu entwickeln.

CHF 35 000 / 55 000

€ 32 710 / 51 400

Verkauft für CHF 77 160 (inkl. Aufgeld)
Angaben ohne Gewähr