Lot 3213 - A197 Impressionist & Modern Art - Friday, 02. July 2021, 05.00 PM

ABRAHAM MANIEVICH

(Mstislavl 1881–1942 New York)
Neige dans la forêt. 1913.
Oil on canvas.
Signed and dated lower left: Manievich 1913.
135.5 × 132 cm.

Provenance:
- Artur Horvatt collection, Geneva, presumably acquired in Paris in 1913.
- Chavan collection, Geneva.
- Auction Galerie Moos, Geneva, 3 June 1937, no. 146.
- Galerie Moos, Geneva, no. 4163 (label on the reverse).
- Swiss private collection, presumably acquired from the above gallery and by descent to the present owners.

Exhibited:
Presumably Paris 1913, Exposition Manievich, Galerie Durand-Ruel, 26 February–15 March 1913 (probably no. 63).

In 1912 the Ukrainian-born artist Abraham Manievich moved to the metropolis of Paris. Manievich had already had the opportunity to show his paintings in various exhibitions, such as at the Kunstverein München in Munich in 1907 and at the Kiev City Museum in 1909. Manievich’s important solo exhibition in February and March of 1913 at the Galerie Durand-Ruel in the centre of Paris, however, was his most important exhibition thus far and established his international reputation. The exhibition showed 75 paintings by the artist; a separate catalogue was printed with a list of all works and the reproduction of four paintings. One of the main lenders to the exhibition was a private collector from Geneva named Arthur Horvatt, who lent thirteen paintings from his collection. We are pleased to offer at least two of them in this auction. The Durand-Ruel exhibition received critical acclaim and was also a financial success. The Musée du Luxembourg, the most important contemporary museum in France at the time, bought the painting “à travers les braches”, which is today located in the Centre Georges Pompidou. In a review, the important art magazine International Studio described the painter as: "manifesting a rare power of expression which could not fail to make a lasting appeal to unbigoted artists and critics alike". (Ginsburg and Pensler, Manievich, p. 19)

From a Geneva private collection we offer five Manievich paintings, all of which probably were part of the 1913 exhibition in Paris. As already mentioned, two paintings (lot 3217 and 3218) were already part of the Arthur Horvatt collection before 1913 and were on loan to Durand-Ruel for exhibition. It stands to reason that the other three paintings (Lots 3215, 3216 and 3219) were acquired by Horvatt during the exhibition and subsequently came to Switzerland. Afterwards, the paintings were most likely offered for sale by Horvatt's descendants at the Galerie Moos in Geneva. The five paintings are exceptionally beautiful works by the artist that he painted between 1910 and 1913, thus at the height of his creative work.

The present, fascinating snowy landscape was probably produced in the winter of 1912–13, shortly before the exhibition in Paris. To date, it is Manievich's largest work to ever be offered at auction. The brilliant light and the shimmering colour are characteristic of his work from this period. The imposing tree is a typical compositional device employed by Manievich. The elegant, complex network of branches and shadows has been rendered onto the raw canvas in short, thick brushstrokes and is exemplary of the artist's best work.

"Both of us are serving the stars: you as an artist and me as a scientist". (Albert Einstein on Manievich).

CHF 40 000 / 60 000

€ 37 380 / 56 070

Lot 3213 - A197 Impressionismus & Moderne - Freitag, 02. Juli 2021, 17.00 Uhr

ABRAHAM MANIEVICH

(Mszislau 1881–1942 New York)
Neige dans la forêt. 1913.
Öl auf Leinwand.
Unten links signiert und datiert: Manievich 1913.
135,5 × 132 cm.

Provenienz:
- Sammlung Artur Horvatt, Genf, wohl 1913 in Paris erworben.
- Sammlung Chavan, Genf.
- Auktion Galerie Moos, Genf, 3. Juni 1937, Nr. 146 (verso mit Nummer).
- Galerie Moos, Genf, Nr. 4163 (verso mit Etikett).
- Schweizer Privatsammlung, wohl in obiger Galerie erworben und durch Erbschaft an die heutigen Besitzer.

Ausstellung:
Wohl Paris 1913, Exposition Manievich, Galerie Durand-Ruel, 26. Februar–15. März 1913 (möglicherweise Nr. 63).

1912 zieht es den in der Ukraine geborenen Künstler Abraham Manievich in die Metropole Paris. Bereits zuvor hat Manievich Gelegenheit, seine Bilder in verschiedenen Ausstellungen zu zeigen, so 1907 im Kunstverein in München oder 1909 im Kiew City Museum. Die bedeutende Einzel-Ausstellung im Februar und März 1913 in der Galerie Durand-Ruel mitten in Paris, wird aber die bisher wichtigste Werkschau und bringt Manievich internationalen Ruhm ein. Die Ausstellung zeigt 75 Gemälde des Künstlers, es wird ein eigener Katalog gedruckt mit der Auflistung aller Werke und der Reproduktion von vier Gemälden. Einer der Haupt-Leihgeber der Ausstellung ist ein Genfer Privatsammler namens Artur Horvatt. Aus dessen Besitz werden 13 Gemälde gezeigt, zwei davon dürfen wir im Zuge dieser Auktion anbieten. Die Ausstellung wird von Kritikern gelobt und wird auch finanziell ein Erfolg. Das Musée du Luxembourg, das dazumal wichtigste zeitgenössische Museum Frankreichs, kauft das Gemälde „À travers les braches“ an, welches sich heute im Centre Georges Pompidou befindet. Das bedeutende Kunstmagazin International Studio schreibt über Manievich: "manifesting a rare power of expression which could not fail to make a lasting appeal to unbigoted artists and critics alike" (Ginsburg/Pensler 2012, S. 19).

Aus einer Genfer Privatsammlung bieten wir fünf Gemälde Manievichs an, die wohl alle Teil der Ausstellung 1913 in Paris waren. Wie bereits erwähnt, befanden sich zwei Gemälde (Los 3217 und Los 3218) bereits vor 1913 im Besitz des Sammlers Artur Horvatt und waren als Leihgabe in der Ausstellung bei Durand-Ruel. Es liegt nahe, dass die drei anderen Gemälde (Los 3215, Los 3216 und Los 3219) während der Ausstellung in Paris von Horvatt erworben wurden und so in die Schweiz kamen. Danach wurden die Bilder mit grosser Wahrscheinlichkeit von den Nachfahren Horvatts bei der Galerie Moos in Genf zum Verkauf angeboten. Bei den fünf Gemälden handelt es sich um aussergewöhnlich schöne Arbeiten des Künstlers, die er zur Blütezeit seines künstlerischen Schaffens zwischen 1910 und 1913 gemalt hat.

Die vorliegende, faszinierende Schneelandschaft entsteht vermutlich im Winter 1912/13, also kurz vor der Ausstellung in Paris. Es ist das bisher grösste Werk Manievichs, welches je an einer Auktion angeboten wurde. Das brillante Licht und die schillernden Farben sind charakteristisch für die Arbeiten aus dieser Zeit. Der imposante Baum ist ein typisches Kompositionsmittel Manievichs. Das elegante, komplexe Geflecht aus Ästen und Schatten wird in kurzen, dicken Pinselstrichen auf die raue Leinwand aufgetragen und ist exemplarisch für die besten Arbeiten des Künstlers.

"Wir beide stehen im Dienste der Sterne: Sie als Künstler und ich als Wissenschaftler". (Albert Einstein über Manievich).

CHF 40 000 / 60 000

€ 37 380 / 56 070

Verkauft für CHF 305 300 (inkl. Aufgeld)
Angaben ohne Gewähr