Lot 3259 - A185 Impressionist & Modern Art - Friday, 29. June 2018, 04.00 PM

KEES VAN DONGEN

(Delfshaven/Rotterdam 1877 - 1968 Monte Carlo)
Portrait de femme. Circa 1913.
Oil on canvas.
65 x 55 cm.

The authenticity of the work has been confirmed by the Wildenstein-Plattner Institute, New York, 13 December 2017.

Provenance:
- Otto and Helene Welter, Waldkirch, presumably bought in the 1920s.
- Private collection, Switzerland, by descent from the above to present owners.

This work is from an important private Swiss collection of French Expressionism which dates back to the 1920s. It has remained in the same family until the present day, and is now being offered for the first time at auction.

A woman, probably watching a play or sitting in an opera box, looks down at the stage. The sitter is shown in strict side profile with her white fan and her curved hat feather creating a harmonious composition.

Van Dongen enjoyed engaging in theatre scenes, and thus two of the painter’s major works are depictions of this subject: "Modjesko" from 1908 (Museum of Modern Art, New York) and "En la Plaza, Femmes à la balustrade" from 1910-11 (L'Annonciade, Musée de Saint-Pierre).

For the family of the owner, this work also held a personal and very significant meaning, as the owner had been the director of the "Grand Casino" in Geneva, which remained the only theatre stage in the city after the fire of the Grand Théâtre.

CHF 250 000 / 350 000

€ 219 300 / 307 020

Sold for CHF 240 500 (including buyer’s premium)
All information is subject to change.

Lot 3259 - A185 Impressionismus & Moderne - Freitag, 29. Juni 2018, 16.00 Uhr

KEES VAN DONGEN

(Delfshaven b. Rotterdam 1877 - 1968 Monte Carlo)
Portrait de femme. Um 1913.
Öl auf Leinwand.
65 x 55 cm.

Die Authentizität des Gemäldes wurde vom Wildenstein-Plattner Institut bestätigt, New York, 13. Dezember 2017.

Provenienz:
- Otto und Helene Welter, Waldkirch, wohl in den 20er Jahren erworben.
- Privatsammlung Schweiz, durch Erbschaft von obigen und bis heute im gleichen Familienbesitz.

Dieses Werk ist Teil einer Westschweizer Privatsammlung bedeutender Werke des französischen Expressionismus, welche bis in die 1920er Jahre zurückreicht. Diese blieb bis heute im gleichen Familienbesitz und wird nun von den Nachfahren zur Versteigerung gegeben.

Eine Frau betrachtet wohl ein Theater oder eine Oper in einer Loge sitzend, den Blick nach unten zur Bühne gewendet. In strengem Seitenprofil dargestellt, ergibt sich mit dem weissen Fächer und der geschwungenen Hutfeder eine harmonische Bildkomposition.
Van Dongen nimmt sich gerne Theaterszenen an. So sind auch zwei Hauptwerke des Malers Darstellungen aus diesem Themenkreis: „Modjesko“ von 1908 (Museum of Modern Art, New York) und „En la Plaza, Femmes à la balustrade“ von 1910-11 (L’Annonciade, Musée de Saint-Tropez).
Auch für die Besitzerfamilie wird dieses Werk ein persönlich sehr bedeutendes gewesen sein, da der Eigentümer für einige Jahre Direktor des „Grand Casinos“ in Genf war, das nach dem Brand des Grand Théâtres, die einzig verbleibende Theaterbühne der Stadt war.

CHF 250 000 / 350 000

€ 233 640 / 327 100

Verkauft für CHF 240 500 (inkl. Aufgeld)
Angaben ohne Gewähr