Lot 3025* - A190 Old Master Paintings - Friday, 27. September 2019, 02.00 PM

PIER FRANCESCO DI JACOPO FOSCHI

(1502 Florence 1567)
Madonna and Child with the Infant St John the Baptist.
Oil on panel.
109 × 85 cm.

Provenance:
- Michael Voggenauer Collection, Cologne, 1979.
- British Railway Pension Fund, until 1994.
- Sotheby's, London, British Railway Pension Fund, 7.12.1994, lot 28.
- European private collection.

Exhibited:
On loan to the Detroit Institute of Arts, 1982–1994 (loan from the British Railway Pension Fund).

Literature:
Apollo, July 1979, p. 70, with ill.

The museum-quality painting offered here is one of Pier Francesco di Jacopo Foschi's major works. Foschi, who was largely unknown amongst researchers until he was rediscovered by the art historian Roberto Longhi in 1953, is today considered one of the leading Florentine painters of the 16th century. The son of Jacopo Foschi (1463–1530, who was a pupil of Botticelli (1445–1510), he studied in the workshop of Andrea del Sarto (1486–1530) until 1530.
Created probably between 1530 and 1540, this high quality and very well-preserved work can be dated to the period when the artist was working with and under Jacopo da Pontormo (1494–1557) in particular.
While in his early works Foschi’s artistic style was largely influenced by the paintings of his teacher Andrea del Sarto, during this time he abandoned the descriptive-narrative elements in favour of an emphasis on the mystical-religious and made his compositions increasingly schematic, as witnessed also in the painting here:

The figure of the Madonna, depicted in three-quarter profile, is in the centre of the composition. Wrapped in a pale red robe, with a yellow veil draped around her shoulders, her lowered gaze and her body arranged in a slightly s-shaped curve, draw our attention down towards the Infant Jesus. As he rests on her blue cloak, she tenderly holds his arm. The feet of the Infant Jesus then lead the eye to the lower left corner of the picture, and thus to the Infant John, who raises his head towards the Madonna pointing the way back towards the upper half of the picture. There, two angels, flanking Mary closely on the right and left, open the green curtain and present the intimate scene to our gaze.

Stylistically committed to Mannerism, with the interlocking arrangement of the figures the pictorial space appears tightly compressed; at the same time the rhythmic composition of gaze, hands and curved bodies creates a lively dynamic. The precise use of colours and the delicate skin tones of the figures complete this masterly depiction.

While the elongated figures are redolent of Michelangelo, in this period Foschi’s compositions appear altogether more rigorous and structured than before. They are also reminiscent of the painting of Fra’Bartolomeo (1472–1517) and anticipate pictorial concepts of the Counter-Reformation.

Pier Francesco di Foschi painted numerous altarpieces and frescoes for influential sponsors in Florence, which was flourishing both economically and artistically. These included The Resurrection (1537), The Transfiguration of Christ (circa 1545) and The Immaculate Conception (circa 1545) for the Church of S. Spirito. The frescoes of the oratory of Villa Rosselli del Turco were produced around the same time.
Foschi was also involved in collective commissions for the Medici, such as the painting of Villa Careggi under Jacopo Pontormo, and the festive decorations for the marriage of Cosimo I to Eleonora of Toledo (1539) and Francesco de'Medici to Joanna of Austria (1565).
In 1564, together with artists including Agnolo Bronzino (1503–1572) and Giorgio Vasari (1511–1574, Foschi was one of the founding members of the commission for the Accademia delle Arti del Disegno, where he held positions of great responsibility until his death.
In 1565 Vincenzo Borghini, the court writer for the Medici, named him as one of the most important Florentine artists alongside Bronzino, Vasari and Michele Torsini (1503–1577).

The painting is listed in the archive of the photographic collection of the Fondazione Zeri under number 34276.

CHF 400 000 / 600 000

€ 350 880 / 526 320

Lot 3025* - A190 Gemälde Alter Meister - Freitag, 27. September 2019, 14.00 Uhr

PIER FRANCESCO DI JACOPO FOSCHI

(1502 Florenz 1567)
Madonna mit Kind und dem Johannesknaben.
Öl auf Holz.
109 × 85 cm.

Provenienz:
- Sammlung Michael Voggenauer, Köln, 1979.
- British Railway Pension Fund, bis 1994.
- Auktion Sotheby's, London, Sammlung British Railway Pension Fund, 7.12.1994, Los 28.
- Europäischer Privatbesitz.

Ausstellung:
Als Leihgabe im Detroit Institute of Arts, 1982–1994 (Leihgabe des British Railway Pension Fund).

Literatur:
Apollo, Juli 1979, S. 70, mit Abb.

Das hier angebotene Gemälde von musealer Qualität ist zu Pier Francesco di Jacopo Foschis Hauptwerken zu zählen. Foschi, der in der Forschung weitgehend unbekannt war bis der Kunsthistoriker Roberto Longhi ihn 1953 wiederentdeckte, gilt heute als einer der führenden florentinischen Maler des 16. Jahrhunderts. Als Sohn des Botticelli-Schülers Jacopo Foschi (1463–1530), lernte er bis 1530 in der Werkstatt Andrea del Sartos (1486–1530).
Wohl entstanden zwischen 1530 und 1540, ist dieses qualitätsvolle und sehr gut erhaltene Werk in jene Schaffensphase zu datieren, in der der Künstler insbesondere mit und unter Jacopo da Pontormo (1494–1557) arbeitete.
Während Foschis künstlerischer Stil in seinen frühen Werken massgeblich von der Malweise seines Lehrmeisters Andrea del Sarto geprägt war, gibt er in dieser Zeit die deskriptiv-narrativen Elemente zugunsten einer Betonung des Mystisch-Religiösen auf und schematisiert seine Kompositionen zunehmend, wovon auch das hier angebotene Gemälde zeugt:

Die im Dreiviertelprofil dargestellte Madonnenfigur befindet sich im Zentrum der Komposition. In ein blassrotes Gewand gehüllt, mit einem gelben Schleier um ihre Schultern drapiert, lenken ihr gesenkter Blick und ihr leicht s-förmig geschwungener Körper die Aufmerksamkeit hinab zum Jesuskind. Auf ihrem blauen Mantel ruhend, hält sie zärtlich dessen Arm. Die Füsse des Jesuskindes leiten den Blick weiter zur linken unteren Bildecke und somit zum Johannesknaben, dessen Kopf sich zur Madonna hebt und zurück in die obere Bildhälfte deutet. Dort öffnen zwei Engel, die Maria dicht zur ihrer Rechten und Linken flankieren, den grünen Vorhang und geben den Blick auf die innige Szene frei.

Stilistisch dem Manierismus verpflichtet, erscheint der Bildraum durch die ineinandergreifende Anordnung der Figuren dicht komprimiert; die wohl rhythmisierte Komposition der Blicke, Hände und geschwungenen Körper schaffen gleichzeitig lebhafte Dynamik. Der gezielte Einsatz von Farben und das zarte Inkarnat der Figuren runden diese meisterhafte Darstellung ab.

Während die länglichen Figuren Erinnerungen an Michelangelo (1475–1564) wachrufen, wirken Foschis Kompositionen in dieser Schaffensperiode insgesamt strenger und konstruierter als zuvor. Sie erinnern derart ebenfalls an die Malerei des Fra’Bartolomeo (1472–1517) und nehmen bereits Bildkonzepte der Gegenreformation vorweg.

Pier Francesco di Foschi malte für einflussreiche Auftraggeber zahlreiche Altarbilder und Fresken im wirtschaftlich wie künstlerisch florierenden Florenz. Unter diesen die Auferstehung (1537), Verklärung Christi (um 1545) und die Unbefleckte Empfängnis (um 1545) für die Kirche S. Spirito. Die Fresken im Oratorium der Villa Rosselli del Turco entstanden etwa zur gleichen Zeit.
Ebenso war Foschi an Kollektivaufträgen der Medici beteiligt. Etwa bei der Ausmalung der Villa Careggi unter Jacopo Pontormo sowie der Festdekoration für die Hochzeiten von Cosimo I. mit Eleonora von Toledo (1539) und Francesco de'Medici mit Johanna von Österreich (1565).
1564 zählte er – unter anderem zusammen mit Agnolo Bronzino (1503–1572) und Giorgio Vasari (1511–1574) – zu den Gründungsmitgliedern der Kommission für die geplante Accademia delle Arti del Disegno, für die er bis zu seinem Tod mit hohen Ämtern betraut wurde.
Vincenzo Borghini, der Hofliterat der Medici, benannte ihn 1565 als einen der wichtigsten Florentiner Künstler neben Bronzino, Vasari und Michele Torsini (1503–1577).

Das Gemälde ist in der Fotothek der Fondazione Zeri unter der Nr. 34276 archiviert.

CHF 400 000 / 600 000

€ 373 830 / 560 750