Lot 3203 - A195 Impressionist & Modern Art - Friday, 04. December 2020, 04.00 PM

GIOVANNI BOLDINI

(Ferrara 1842–1931 Paris)
Al Ristorante. Circa 1896.
Oil on panel.
Signed lower left: Boldini.
34.5 × 27 cm.

Provenance:
- Studio Boldini.
- Collection Stramezzi, Crema.
- Galleria Silbernagl, Daverio (with stamp on the reverse).
- Private collection Ticino, by descent to the present owner.

Exhibition:
Paris 1951, Parisiens d'Italie, Galerie de la Maison du Livre Italien, 1–20 February 1951 (with label on the reverse).

Literature:
- Tiziano Panconi: Giovanni Boldini: l'opera completa, Florence 2002, p. 374 (with b/w ill.).
- Bianca Doria: Giovanni Boldini: catalogo generale dagli archivi Boldini, Milan 2000, no. 360.
- Giuseppe Luigi Marini: Catalogo Bolaffi della pittura italiana dell'Ottocento, Turino 2009, p. 25, no. 9.
- Enrico Piceni: Giovanni Boldini. L'uomo e l'opera, Busto Arsizio 1981, no. 41.
- Ettore Camesasca und Carlo L. Ragghianti: Boldini. L'opera completa, Milan 1970, p. 11, no. 267b (with ill.).

Giovanni Boldini lived on the pulse of the Parisian Belle Époche period. He drew inspiration for his work from the lively streets of the French capital — in bars, restaurants, theatres and cabarets. After spending time in Florence and London, Boldini, who hailed from Ferrara in Italy, went to Paris in 1873, where he quickly attracted attention. He portrayed the Parisian high society in elegant clothes, strolling in gardens or situated in decorative interiors. Boldini proved to be an active observer of modern Parisian life and his paintings quickly became very popular. Well-connected in the artistic milieu of the French capital, he maintained friendships with Edgar Degas, Édouard Manet, Ernest Meissonier and Berthe Morisot.

The present painting, "Al Ristorante”, is exemplary of Boldini's work both in terms of content and style. Restaurants and cafés as meeting places of modern Parisian life had interested the artist since the late 1870s. Two paintings, "The Red Café" from 1887 and "Couple in a Café" from the same year, show clear parallels to the work offered here from circa 1896. A darker colour palette, however, predominates in our work. The costume of the seated lady and her striking headdress are depicted in a hatched style. The details of the restaurant interior can only be surmised, as they are swallowed by a rough application of paint. This expressive character defines Boldini's late work and distinguishes his personal style, capturing the character of his figures and creating a special mood through a few sketchy brushstrokes.

Giovanni Boldini successfully established himself in flourishing Paris, the centre of the modern art market at the time, and developed into one of the most sought-after portraitists of his period. Alongside international private collections, his works can be found today in museums such as the Metropolitan Museum in New York and the Musée d’Orsay in Paris.

CHF 35 000 / 50 000

€ 30 700 / 43 860

Lot 3203 - A195 Impressionismus & Moderne - Freitag, 04. Dezember 2020, 16.00 Uhr

GIOVANNI BOLDINI

(Ferrara 1842–1931 Paris)
Al Ristorante. Um 1896.
Öl auf Holz.
Unten links signiert: Boldini.
34,5 × 27 cm.

Provenienz:
- Atelier Boldini.
- Sammlung Stramezzi, Crema.
- Galleria Silbernagl, Daverio (verso mit Stempel).
- Tessiner Privatsammlung, durch Erbschaft erhalten.

Ausstellung:
Paris 1951, Parisiens d'Italie, Galerie de la Maison du Livre Italien, 1.–20. Februar 1951 (verso mit Etikett).

Literatur:
- Tiziano Panconi: Giovanni Boldini: L'opera completa, Florenz 2002, S. 374 (mit s/w Abb.).
- Bianca Doria: Giovanni Boldini: catalogo generale dagli archivi Boldini, Mailand 2000, Nr. 360.
- Giuseppe Luigi Marini: Catalogo Bolaffi della pittura italiana dell'Ottocento, Turin 2009, S. 25, Nr. 9.
- Enrico Piceni: Giovanni Boldini. L'uomo e l'opera, Busto Arsizio 1981, Nr. 41.
- Ettore Camesasca und Carlo L. Ragghianti: Boldini. L'opera completa, Mailand 1970, S. 11, Nr. 267b (mit Abb.).

Giovanni Boldini lebt in der Pariser Belle Époque am Puls der Zeit. Auf den lebendigen Strassen der französischen Hauptstadt, in Bars und Restaurants oder in Theatern und Kabaretts, schöpft er Inspiration für seine Arbeit. Nach Stationen in Florenz und London kommt der aus dem italienischen Ferrara stammende Boldini 1873 nach Paris, wo er rasch auf sich aufmerksam macht. Er porträtiert die gehobene Pariser Gesellschaft in edlen Kleidern, flanierend in Gärten oder in dekorativen Interieurs. Boldini erweist sich als aktiver Beobachter des modernen Pariser Lebens und seine Gemälde erfreuen sich schnell grosser Beliebtheit. Gut vernetzt im künstlerischen Umfeld der französischen Hauptstadt, pflegt er Freundschaften zu Edgar Degas, Édouard Manet, Ernest Meissonier oder Berthe Morisot.

Das hier angebotene Gemälde „Al Ristorante“ ist sowohl inhaltlich als auch stilistisch exemplarisch für Boldinis Werk. Restaurants und Cafés als Treffpunkte des modernen Lebens interessieren den Künstler bereits seit den späten 1870er-Jahren. So weisen die beiden Gemälde „Interno di Caffé a Parigi, con tenda rossa“ von 1887 und „Interno di Caffé con Coppia Abbracciata“ aus dem gleichen Jahr deutliche Parallelen zu der unsrigen, um 1896 entstandenen Arbeit, auf. Hier überwiegt jedoch eine dunklere Farbpalette. Das Kostüm der sitzenden Dame und ihr auffallender Kopfschmuck sind schraffurartig dargestellt. Auch die Details der Restauranteinrichtung sind nur zu erahnen, werden sie doch von grobem Farbauftrag verschluckt. Dieser expressive Duktus ist prägend für Boldinis Spätwerk und kennzeichnet seinen persönlichen Stil: Mit wenigen, skizzenhaften Pinselstrichen fängt er den Charakter seiner Figuren ein und schafft eine besondere Stimmung.

Giovanni Boldini gelingt es, sich im florierenden Paris, dem damaligen Zentrum des modernen Kunstmarkts, zu etablieren und zu einem der gefragtesten Porträtisten seiner Zeit zu entwickeln. Heute finden sich seine Werke neben internationalen Privatsammlungen in Museen wie dem Metropolitan Museum in New York oder dem Musée d’Orsay in Paris.

CHF 35 000 / 50 000

€ 32 710 / 46 730