Lot 3208 - A188 19th Century Paintings - Friday, 29. March 2019, 04.00 PM

JOSEF REBELL

(Vienna 1787 – 1828 Dresden)
Fishermen in the Bay of Naples. 1820.
Oil on canvas.
Signed and dated lower right: Jos: Rebell 1820.
45.5 x 67 cm.

Provenance:
Swiss private collection.

Dr. Sabine Grabner of the Belvedere Museum in Vienna, to whom we owe our thanks for her help in cataloguing this work, highlights the fine quality of the work and identifies the architecture depicted in the background as Palazzo della Regina Giovanna, also known as Donn´Anna, which is located between Naples and Posillipo by the sea.

Dr. Grabner points out that in Hormayr’s register of works for 1820 a picture with the title “Ansicht del Palazzo della Regina Giovanna” (view of Palazzo della Regina Giovanna) was mentioned, with the comment “für Herrn Sykes nach London” (For Mr Sykes, London). Rebell produced a work with the same view but a different grouping of figures in 1821 for “Grafen v. Gaurieff nach Paris” (Count von Gaurieff, Paris), a work which is now in the Lentos art museum in Linz.

The view shown here appears to have been very popular, since Rebell painted a further two depictions in 1822 (one went to a Mr Demidoff in Rome, the other to Ritter von Rothschild in Naples) as well as a further one in 1823, which entered the collection of the Duke of Nassau.

In Autumn 2020 Josef Rebell’s work is to be showcased in a largescale exhibition at the Belvedere in Vienna, which will be curated by Dr. Sabine Grabner.

CHF 6 000 / 8 000

€ 5 260 / 7 020

Sold for CHF 50 900 (including buyer’s premium)
All information is subject to change.

Lot 3208 - A188 Gemälde des 19. Jahrhunderts - Freitag, 29. März 2019, 16.00 Uhr

JOSEF REBELL

(Wien 1787–1828 Dresden)
Fischer in der Bucht von Neapel. 1820.
Öl auf Leinwand.
Unten rechts signiert und datiert: Jos: Rebell 1820.
45,5 × 67 cm.

Provenienz:
Schweizer Privatbesitz.

Dr. Sabine Grabner vom Museum Belvedere in Wien, der wir für ihre Hilfe bei der Katalogisierung danken, hebt die schöne Qualität der Arbeit hervor und identifiziert die dargestellte Architektur im Hintergrund als den Palazzo della Regina Giovanna, auch bekannt als Donn´Anna, der zwischen Neapel und dem Posillipo am Meer liegt.

Dr. Grabner macht darauf aufmerksam, dass in der Werkauflistung von Hormayr für das Jahr 1820 ein Bild mit dem Titel „Ansicht del Palazzo della Regina Giovanna“ erwähnt wird, mit dem Beisatz „für Herrn Sykes nach London“. Dieselbe Ansicht nur mit anderer Figurenstaffage fertigte Rebell 1821 für den „Grafen v. Gaurieff nach Paris“ an, das sich heute im Lentos Kunstmuseum in Linz befindet.

Die gezeigte Ansicht schien sehr beliebt gewesen zu sein, denn Rebell malte noch zwei weitere Darstellungen im Jahre 1822 (die eine ging zu Herrn Demidoff nach Rom, die andere zum Ritter von Rothschild nach Neapel) sowie eine weitere im Jahre 1823, die in die Sammlung des Herzogs von Nassau überging.

Im Herbst 2020 soll das Werk Josef Rebells in einer grossen Ausstellung im Belvedere in Wien, die von Dr. Sabine Grabner kuratiert wird, gerühmt werden.

CHF 6 000 / 8 000

€ 5 260 / 7 020

Verkauft für CHF 50 900 (inkl. Aufgeld)
Angaben ohne Gewähr