Lot 3628 - A191 Prints & Multiples - Saturday, 07. December 2019, 10.00 AM

PABLO PICASSO

(Málaga 1881 - 1973 Mougins)
Françoise. 1946.
Lithograph. 2/50. Signed in pencil lower right: Picasso, also dated in the plate: 14 juin 46. Image 59.5 x 48.5 cm on wove paper by Arches 66 x 49.2 cm.

Catalogue raisonné: Bloch, no. 396.

Literature: Gauss, Ulrike (ed.): Pablo Picasso. Die Lithographie. Graphikmuseum Pablo Picasso Münster. Die Sammlung Huizinga, Ostfildern-Ruit 2000, no. 147/40.

The painter Françoise Gilot lived with Pablo Picasso for ten years. A disaster, she says – but a wonderful one.

Françoise Gilot (born 1921) was the woman at Picasso’s side for ten years. Françoise Gilot is herself a painter and met Pablo Picasso in 1943 at her own exhibition. The then 22-year-old and Picasso, 40 years her senior, became a couple. She lived with him in Paris as well as in Southern France. There were two children from the relationship, Claude and Paloma. They called their daughter Paloma, which means dove, named after the dove which became the symbol of peace worldwide, which appears in Picasso’s poster for the Paris Peace Congress in 1949, the same year their daughter was born.
Françoise, herself also an artist, is said to have been the only person in the life of the master, who to some extent kept him in check. She is regarded as the most independent and most intelligent of Picasso’s lovers, and Françoise was, amongst other things, the first woman who was not abandoned by Picasso, but who ended the relationship herself. Many years after the separation, she published two books about Picasso: "My life with Picasso" (1964) and "Matisse and Picasso. A friendship in art" (1990). Today, at the age of 97, Françoise Gilot lives and works in New York.

Picasso used portraits of Françoise as the model for countless experiments, both in paintings and prints, in various facets and styles. The lithograph offered here at auction from 1946 comes from his mature phase of printmaking in which he turned again to lithography.

With his characteristic formal language, Picasso has succeeded in creating a significant portrait of his then muse, who in his pictures always has her right eyebrow raised. Françoise, with her characteristic full and lavish head of hair, looks at the viewer with a self-assured and challenging gaze – with the finest strokes, Picasso has created an extraordinary portrait of a strong woman.

CHF 25 000 / 35 000

€ 21 930 / 30 700

Sold for CHF 67 400 (including buyer’s premium)
All information is subject to change.

Lot 3628 - A191 Grafik & Multiples - Samstag, 07. Dezember 2019, 10.00 Uhr

PABLO PICASSO

(Málaga 1881 - 1973 Mougins)
Françoise. 1946.
Lithografie. 2/50. Unten rechts mit Bleistift signiert: Picasso, sowie in der Platte datiert: 14 juin 46. Darstellung 59,5 × 48,5 cm auf Vélin von Arches 66 × 49,2 cm.

Werkverzeichnis: Bloch, Nr. 396.

Literatur: Gauss, Ulrike (Hrsg.): Pablo Picasso. Die Lithographie. Graphikmuseum Pablo Picasso Münster. Die Sammlung Huizinga, Ostfildern-Ruit 2000, Nr. 147/40.

Die Malerin Françoise Gilot lebt zehn Jahre mit Pablo Picasso zusammen. Eine Katastrophe, sagt sie – aber eine wunderschöne.

Françoise Gilot (geboren 1921) ist zehn Jahre lang die Frau an Picassos Seite. Sie ist selbst Malerin und lernt Pablo Picasso im Jahr 1943 bei ihrer eigenen Ausstellung kennen. Die damals 22-jährige und der 40 Jahre ältere Maler werden ein Paar. Sie lebt mit ihm in Paris sowie in Südfrankreich. Zwei Kinder entstehen aus der Beziehung, Claude und Paloma. In Anlehnung an die von Picasso entworfene Taube, die nach seinem Plakat für den Pariser Friedenskongress im Jahre 1949 weltweit zum Friedenssymbol wird, nennen sie die im selben Jahr geborene Tochter Paloma - Taube.

Françoise ist der Überlieferung nach die einzige Person im Leben des Meisters, die ihn zum Staunen bringen kann. Sie gilt als die eigenständigste und intelligenteste der Geliebten Picassos. So ist Françoise unter anderem die erste Frau, die nicht von Picasso verlassen wird, sondern die die Beziehung von sich aus beendet. Viele Jahre nach der Trennung veröffentlicht sie zwei Bücher über Picasso: "Mein Leben mit Picasso" (1964) und "Matisse und Picasso. Eine Künstlerfreundschaft" (1990). Heute, mit 97 Jahren, lebt und arbeitet Françoise Gilot in New York.

Picasso nimmt Françoises Porträt als Vorlage für eine grosse Anzahl an Experimenten, sowohl in Gemälden wie auch in Druckgrafiken, in verschiedenen Facetten und Stilrichtungen. Die hier angebotene Lithografie aus dem Jahr 1946 stammt aus seinem reifen druckgraphischen Werk, in welchem er sich erneut der Lithographie zuwendet.

In seiner charakteristischen Formsprache ist Picasso hier ein bezeichnendes Porträt seiner damaligen Muse gelungen, die in seinen Bildern stets die rechte Augenbraue hochgezogen hat. Françoise, mit ihrem charakteristisch schmückenden und vollen Haar, blickt selbstbewusst und fordernd den Betrachter an - Picasso hat mit feinsten Strichen ein aussergewöhnliches Porträt einer starken Frau geschaffen.

CHF 25 000 / 35 000

€ 23 360 / 32 710

Verkauft für CHF 67 400 (inkl. Aufgeld)
Angaben ohne Gewähr