Lot 1092* - A194 Furniture, Porcelain & Decoration - Thursday, 24. September 2020, 10.00 AM

A PAIR OF IMPORTANT LIDDED VASES "À POT POURRI" WITH BRONZE MOUNTS

Louis XVI, Paris ca. 1775/80. The model by Jean Dulac ("marchand–mercier", ca. 1750/80).
Bronze, embossed and chiseled, and matte and polished gilt. The porcelain, probably Sèvres in "beau bleu", the underside with incised marks. Urn-shaped vessel. "On a round foot with a rectangular plinth, with meander à la grecque".
H 41 cm.

Gilding rubbed.

Provenance:
- from a French collection.

A lidded vase with an analogous design, with Sèvres porcelain in "beau bleu" and identical bronze decoration, was delivered to the Polish Royal Court in the 1770s and is now part of the collections of the Lazienki Palace in Warsaw. Another pair with incorporated candelabras inside the vessels is now part of the collections of Fontainebleau. Dulac also delivered a pair of these vases to Madame du Barry around 1770, which are now kept in Versailles on loan from the Fontainebleau Castle collection (Inv. No. F586c).
In the early 1760s, the Manufacture Sèvres began to produce vases with bronze mounts; the latter were applied and signed by the "marchand-merciers" after they had acquired the porcelain vessels for resale. The most important objects of this kind were produced in the so-called "beau bleu" and were made almost exclusively for the French or European high nobility. The most important "marchand-merciers" and "bronziers" of the period, such as D. Daguerre and P.P. Thomire, are mentioned in the archives of the Manufacture Sèvres as buyers and provided designs for the porcelain vessels. Jean Dulac is also mentioned in the Sèvres archives as a buyer between 1758 and 1776, who purchased a large part of the production of this type of vase, known as "vase en cloche".
One of the vases delivered to the Polish Royal Court has an inscription on the lid: 'DULAC MD. RUE ST. HONORE A PARIS INVENIT'. This does not necessarily mean that the design came from Dulac himself, but it does indicate that he claimed the rights for this model. (Cf. Carolyn Sargentson. Merchants and Luxury marktes. The Marchands Merciers of Eighteenth-Century Paris. London 1996, pp. 51/52; see also: P. Verlet, Les bronzes dorés du XVIIIe siècle, Paris 1987; pp. 72f. (with ills. the aforementioned magnificent lidded vase from the Warsaw Palace) and p. 205 (with ills. the vase girandoles of Fontainebleau). A very similar pair of vases, but unsigned, is in the Huntington Collection, in Pasadena California (Inv. Nos. 13.19 & 13.20). Other models attributed to Jean Dulac appear repeatedly at auctions and regularly fetch high prices. (See for this: Christie's London, 2 December 1997, Lot No. 40; Christie's New York, 18 May 2006, Lot No. 776; A Pair of Green Vases at Christie's London, 5 July 2012, Lot No. 23)

CHF 60 000 / 90 000

€ 52 630 / 78 950

Sold for CHF 55 710 (including buyer’s premium)
All information is subject to change.

Lot 1092* - A194 Möbel, Porzellan & Dekoration - Donnerstag, 24. September 2020, 10.00 Uhr

PAAR PRUNKDECKELVASEN "À POT POURRI" MIT BRONZEMONTUR

Louis XVI, Paris um 1775/80. Das Modell von Jean Dulac ("marchand–mercier", um 1750/80).
Bronze punziert und ziseliert sowie matt- und glanzvergoldet. Das Porzellan wohl Sèvres in "beau bleu", auf der Unterseite mit geritzten Marken. Urnenförmiger Gefässkörper, der Lippenrand mit teils durchbrochener vergoldeter Bronzemontierung in Form von Löwenfell-Draperie und Löwenköpfen, Lorbeerstab sowie Mäanderband. Auf eingezogenem, mit Blattwerk reliefiertem Rundfuss und Rechtecksockel mit Mäander "à la grecque".
H 41 cm.

Vergoldung berieben.

Provenienz: Aus französischem Besitz.

Eine in der Formgebung analoge Deckelvase mit Sèvres-Porzellan in "beau bleu" und identischem Bronzezierrrat wurde in den 1770er Jahren an den polnischen Königshof geliefert und ist heute Bestand der Sammlungen des Palais Lazienki in Warschau. Ein weiteres Paar mit inkorporierten Girandolen im Innern der Gefässe ist heute Bestand der Sammlungen von Fontainebleau. Ebenso wurde von Dulac um 1770 ein Paar dieser Vasen an Madame du Barry geliefert, die heute in Versailles als Leihgabe der Schlosssammlung Fontainebleau aufbewahrt werden (Inv. F586c).
Die Manufaktur Sèvres begann in den frühen 1760er Jahren mit der Herstellung von Vasen mit Bronzemontur; letztere wurden von den "marchand-merciers" angebracht und mit der eigenen Signatur versehen, nachdem sie die Porzellangefässe zwecks Weiterverkauf erworben hatten. Die bedeutendsten Objekte dieser Art wurden im sog. "beau bleu" hergestellt und nahezu ausschliesslich für den französischen oder europäischen Hochadel gefertigt. Die wichtigsten "marchand-merciers" und "bronziers" der Epoche, wie z.B. D. Daguerre und P.P. Thomire, werden in den Archiven der Manufaktur Sèvres als Abnehmer erwähnt und lieferten Entwürfe für die Porzellangefässe. Auch Jean Dulac findet in den Quellen von Sèvres als Käufer Erwähnung zwischen 1758 und 1776. Er erstand einen Grossteil der Produktion dieses Vasentyps, bekannt als "vase en cloche".
Eine der an den polnischen Königshof gelieferten Vasen weist im Deckel eine Inschrift auf: 'DULAC MD. RUE ST. HONORE A PARIS INVENIT'. Das bedeutet nicht zwingend, dass der Entwurf von Dulac selbst stammte, weist aber darauf hin, dass er die Rechte für dieses Modell für sich beanspruchte. (Vgl. Carolyn Sargentson. Merchants and Luxury marktes. The Marchands Merciers of Eighteenth-Century Paris. London 1996. S. 51/52. Vgl. ebenso: P. Verlet, Les bronzes dorés du XVIIIe siècle, Paris 1987; S. 72f. (mit Abb. der erwähnten Prunkdeckelvase aus dem Warschauer Palais) und S. 205 (mit Abb. der Vasengirandolen von Fontainebleau). Ein sehr ähnliches Vasenpaar, das jedoch unsigniert ist, befindet sich in der Huntington Collection, in Pasedena Kalifornien (Inv.Nr. 13.19 & 13.20). Weitere Modelle, die Jean Dulac zugeschrieben werden, tauchen immer wieder auf Auktionen auf und erzielen regelmässig hohe Preise. (Vgl. dafür: Christie’s London, 2. Dezember 1997, Lot 40; Christie’s New York, 18. Mai 2006, Lot 776; Ein grünes Vasenpaar bei Christie’s London, 5. Juli 2012, Lot 23)

CHF 60 000 / 90 000

€ 56 070 / 84 110

Verkauft für CHF 55 710 (inkl. Aufgeld)
Angaben ohne Gewähr