Lot 3463* - A199 PostWar & Contemporary - Thursday, 02. December 2021, 04.00 PM

PETER PHILLIPS

(Birmingham 1939–lives and works in London)
Gemini 1: Unvarying Mean. 1981.
Oil and wax on canvas, 2-parts.
Signed, dated, titled, also with technique information and directional arrow on both stretchers and on the reverse of each canvas: Peter Phillips, Gemini 1: Unvarying Mean, 1981, oil & wax on canvas. Right / Left panel.
180 × 260 cm.

Provenance:
- Walker Art Gallery, Liverpool (verso with the label).
- Private collection Germany.

Exhibition: Liverpool 1982. retroVISION Peter PHILLIPS. Walker Art Gallery, 26 June - 1 August, p. 76 (with colour-ill.).

"There needs to be a game which is constantly played with the painting which is never resolved. It's better that way when the painting is self-generative." - Peter Phillips

Known for his striking collages, Peter Phillips was one of the founders of British Pop Art. His œuvre covers an enormous range, from conventional oil paintings on canvas, to multimedia compositions and sculptures.

In 1959, Phillips began studying at the Royal College of Art together with David Hockney and Allen Jones. Inspired by the works of Johns and Rauschenberg, he soon aligned himself with American culture, echoing its commercial iconography and aggressive advertising style in his large-scale montage paintings of the 1960s. In 1964, he received a Harkness Fellowship, moved to New York, and exhibited alongside the greats such as Warhol, Lichtenstein and Rosenquist, until 1976, when there was an about-turn in Phillips' work: inspired by de Heem, among others, the artist began to use elements of trompe-l'oeil, creating an interplay between illusion and plasticity on the canvas through the use of different types of colour and materials.

Despite a crisis in his personal life and creative work in the late 1970s, he produced the present work in 1981, which is an outstanding example of this late creative period. Although the prominent collages have almost completely disappeared, the pictorial quality and partly simulated three-dimensionality of the subjects depicted remain clearly perceptible, through a combination of oil and wax in this large-format diptych, Gemini 1.

Against a rather muted background, four elements are arranged in the centre of each canvas, each of which is lent its own character and effect through the precise choice of colour. However, Phillips refrains from inducing explicit associations with objects, so that the work offered here also inevitably leaves questions open as to which elements are physically real and which are illusions created on the canvas.

CHF 20 000 / 30 000

€ 18 690 / 28 040

Lot 3463* - A199 PostWar & Contemporary - Donnerstag, 02. Dezember 2021, 16.00 Uhr

PETER PHILLIPS

(Birmingham 1939–lebt und arbeitet in London)
Gemini 1: Unvarying Mean. 1981.
Öl und Wachs auf Leinwand, 2-teilig.
Verso auf der Leinwand und dem Keilrahmen jeweils signiert, datiert, betitelt, mit Technikangaben und Richtungspfeil: Peter Phillips, Gemini 1: Unvarying Mean, 1981, oil & wax on canvas. Right / Left panel.
180 × 260 cm.

Provenienz:
- Walker Art Gallery, Liverpool (verso mit dem Etikett).
- Privatsammlung Deutschland.

Ausstellung: Liverpool 1982. retroVISION Peter PHILLIPS. Walker Art Gallery, 26. Juni - 1. August, S. 76 (mit Farb.-Abb.).

"There needs to be a game which is constantly played with the painting which is never resolved. It’s better that way when the painting is self-generative." – Peter Phillips

Bekannt für seine plakativen Collagen, zählt Peter Phillips zu den Mitbegründern der britischen Pop Art. Sein Œuvre weist mit konventionellen Ölgemälden auf Leinwand, multimedialen Kompositionen bis hin zu Skulpturen eine enorme Spannweite auf.

1959 nimmt Phillips zusammen mit David Hockney und Allen Jones sein Studium am Royal College of Art auf. Inspiriert durch Werke von Johns und Rauschenberg, orientiert er sich bald an der amerikanischen Kultur und gibt deren kommerzielle Ikonografie und aggressiven Werbestil in seinen grossformatigen Montagebildern der 1960er Jahre wieder. 1964 erhält er das Harkness-Stipendium, zieht nach New York und stellt fortan neben Grössen wie Warhol, Lichtenstein und Rosenquist aus, bevor 1976 eine Kehrtwende in Phillips Schaffen folgt: der Künstler bedient sich, unter anderem inspiriert von de Heem, fortan Elementen des Trompe-l’oeil und erzeugt durch Verwendung verschiedener Farbarten und Materialien ein Zusammenspiel zwischen Illusion und Plastizität auf der Leinwand.

Trotz einer persönlichen Lebens- und Schaffenskrise in den späten 70er Jahren, entsteht 1981 das vorliegende Werk als herausragendes Beispiel dieser späten Schaffensperiode. Obgleich die prominenten Collagen beinahe gänzlich verschwunden sind, bleibt die Bildhaftigkeit und teils vorgetäuschte Dreidimensionalität der dargestellten Sujets durch eine Kombination von Öl und Wachs im grossformatig angelegten Diptychon "Gemini 1" deutlich spürbar.

Vor eher gedecktem Hintergrund präsentieren sich im Zentrum der jeweiligen Leinwand vier arrangierte Elemente, denen durch die präzise Farbwahl jeder Tafel ein eigener Charakter und Wirkung verliehen wird. Jedoch lässt Phillips davon ab, explizite Assoziationen mit Gegenständen zu induzieren, so dass auch das hier angebotene Werk unweigerlich offene Fragen hinterlässt, welche Elemente physisch real und welche auf der Leinwand erzeugte Illusionen sind.

CHF 20 000 / 30 000

€ 18 690 / 28 040