Lot 3044 - A186 Old Master Paintings - Friday, 28. September 2018, 02.00 PM

VOS, SIMON DE

(1603 Antwerp 1676)
The Visitation. Circa 1639.
Oil on panel.
23 x 17.3 cm.

Provenance:
Swiss private collection for circa 40 years.

This wooden panel, recently discovered in a Swiss private collection, is a remarkable addition to the hitherto known oeuvre of the Antwerp artist Simon de Vos. It depicts The Visitation, the meeting of Mary and her sister Elisabeth, pregnant with Jesus and John the Baptist, in Elisabeth’s house. The composition is known from an altarpiece in Saint Jacob’s church in Antwerp, which until now was considered to be a work by Victor Wolfvoet (1612-1652) (see Martin, Gregory / Schepers, Bert: Two Antwerp cabinets decorated by Victor Wolfvoet II, in: The Burlington Magazine, CLVII, October 2016, pp. 793-802, Checklist "Antwerp, St. James's Church", p. 802, under "rejected attributions"). In light of the latest art historical research, however, Dr Bert Schepers of the Rubenianum recognizes without a doubt the hand of Simon de Vos and has identified this work as a study for the altarpiece.

The altarpiece in question with the same composition (oil on canvas, 268 x 192 cm; see ill. 1) was painted in 1639 for the private chapel of the family of the Portuguese consul Franco Lopez Franco, which was constructed between 1636 and 1640.

From the 16th to 18th centuries, Saint James’s church was the parish church of Antwerp's prominent citizens, who had private chapels erected for their tombs, including Peter Paul Rubens (1577-1640) and his wife Helena Fourment. The painters Jan van Balen (1611-1654) and Jan Boeckhorst (1604-1668) also chose Saint James's as their last resting place.

Simon de Vos was active as both a painter and art collector, specialising early on in his career in cabinet and genre paintings in the style of the Utrecht Caravaggisti. From circa 1640 on, he increasingly painted large-format religious, allegorical or historical scenes in the style of Peter Paul Rubens and Anthony van Dyck (1599-1641). Among his pupils was Jan van Kessel the Elder (1626-1679).

Dr Bert Schepers, to whom we are grateful for his assistance in the cataloguing of this work, will include this work in a forthcoming lecture on Victor Wolfvoet at the Rubenianum in December 2018.

CHF 10 000 / 15 000

€ 8 770 / 13 160

Sold for CHF 30 500 (including buyer’s premium)
All information is subject to change.

Lot 3044 - A186 Gemälde Alter Meister - Freitag, 28. September 2018, 14.00 Uhr

SIMON DE VOS

(1603 Antwerpen 1676)
Die Heimsuchung. Um 1639.
Öl auf Holz.
23 × 17,3 cm.

Provenienz:
Schweizer Privatbesitz seit ca. 40 Jahren.

Diese kürzlich in einer Schweizer Privatsammlung entdeckte Holztafel ist eine bemerkenswerte Bereicherung für das bislang bekannte Oeuvre des Antwerpener Malers Simon de Vos. Es zeigt die Darstellung der Heimsuchung, dem Zusammentreffen der mit Jesus und Johannes dem Täufer schwangeren Frauen Maria und Elisabeth im Hause von Elisabeth. Die Komposition ist in einem Altargemälde in der Sankt-Jakobskirche in Antwerpen bekannt, die bislang als ein Werk Victor Wolfvoet (1612-1652) angesehen wurde (siehe Martin, Gregory / Schepers, Bert: Two Antwerp cabinets decorated by Victor Wolfvoet II, in: The Burlington Magazine, CLVII, Oktober 2016, S. 793-802, Checklist "Antwerp, St. James's Church", S. 802, unter "rejected attributions"). Dr. Bert Schepers vom Rubenianum erkennt darin allerdings nach neuesten kunsthistorischen Erkenntnissen eindeutig die Hand Simon de Vos und identifiziert unsere kleinere Version als eine Vorstudie zum Altarwerk.

Das Altargemälde mit derselben Komposition (Öl auf Leinwand, 268 x 192 cm; siehe Abb. 1) entstand um 1639 für die private Kapelle der Familie des portugiesischen Konsuls Franco Lopez Franco, welche zwischen 1636 und 1640 errichtet wurde.

Zwischen dem 16. und dem 18. Jahrhundert war die Sankt-Jakobskirche die bedeutendste Pfarrkirche Antwerpens und mehrere bekannte Persönlichkeiten liessen sich private Kapellen für ihre Grabstätten errichten, so auch Peter Paul Rubens (1577-1640) und seine Frau Helena Fourment. Die Künstler Jan van Balen (1611-1654) und Jan Boeckhorst (1604-1668) fanden dort ebenfalls ihre letzte Ruhe.

Simon de Vos war als Maler und Kunstsammler tätig und spezialisierte sich zu Beginn seiner Karriere auf Kabinettdarstellungen und Genreszenen im Stil der Utrechter Caravaggisten. Ab ca. 1640 malte er vermehrt religiöse, allegorische sowie historische Szenen von grossem Format im Stile Peter Paul Rubens und Anthonis van Dyck (1599-1641). Zu seinen Schülern zählte unter anderem Jan van Kessel d. Ä. (1626-1679).

Dr. Bert Schepers, dem wir für seine Hilfe bei der Katalogisierung dieses Gemäldes danken, wird dieses in einem Vortrag über Victor Wolfvoet im Dezember 2018 im Rubenianum vorstellen.

CHF 10 000 / 15 000

€ 9 350 / 14 020

Verkauft für CHF 30 500 (inkl. Aufgeld)
Angaben ohne Gewähr