Lot 3752 - A193 PostWar & Contemporary - Saturday, 04. July 2020, 02.00 PM

ANDY WARHOL

(Pittsburgh 1928–1987 New York)
Lola Jacobson. 1985.
Acrylic and silkscreen ink on canvas.
On the overlap with the stamps: The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts and The Estate of Andy Warhol. Also with the archive number on the stretcher: P050.072.
101.5 × 101.5 cm.

Provenance:
- Artist's estate.
- The Andy Warhol Foundation of the Visual Arts, New York.
- Jane Holzer, New York.
- Private collection New York.
- Auction Sotheby's New York, 15.11.2000, Lot 314.
- Private collection Switzerland.

Andy Warhol was born on 6 August 1928, the third child of a Russian immigrant family in Pittsburgh. At the age of eight he contracted St Vitus’ dance and a rare pigment condition, so that he was often taken to be an Albino. Confined to bed, he discovered a passion for comics and movies. From 1945 to 1949 Warhol studied commercial graphics at the Carnegie Institute of Technology, where he obtained a degree in painting and design. The young Warhol then moved to the hotspot for art and literature – New York. There he worked as a window dresser and soon became the most sought-after advertising designer in the city. His first drawings were published in 1950 in the magazine “Mademoiselle”. With the designer Suzie Frankfurt, he developed the drop-and-dripping technique, in which he copied motifs painted with India ink and ink using blotting paper, and transferred them to another sheet – a precursor to his later favourite technique of screen printing. This resulted in numerous greetings cards, giveaways, contributions to magazines and also cookbooks. At so-called “Colouring Parties” he would have friends and guests paint works – again a clue as to later serial production and the Factory.

By the end of the 1950s he decided to abandon graphic design and to work as an artist. Like no one before him he addressed the question of changes in society. He sought out everyday objects, events, stars, and starlets that permeated everyday life and had some kind of meaning for everyone. These might be an item of mass consumption, such as the famous Campbell’s soup cans, which in the 1950s/60s were never absent from American and English kitchen cabinets, or celebrities like James Dean, Jackie Kennedy and Marylin Monroe, whose fate had been shared with an entire generation. Warhol skilfully used comics, newspaper photos and pictures of stars, starlets, accidents, events and objects, and by using them in his artworks and simultaneous serialisation, elevated them to the status of icon, not only for his own time but for our time as well. At the beginning of the 1960s he began to explore screen printing, the technique of which enabled him to work in series, which was intrinsic to his work. The Factory, founded in 1962, also contributed to pushing this seriality to its extreme.

In 1968 the radical women’s rights activist Valerie Solanas carried out an assassination attempt on Warhol. As a result, for a time he became more and more withdrawn, and the formerly experimental Factory became increasingly focussed on the commercialisation of his art. Through this experience and later the death of his mother, the theme of death found its way into Warhol’s work. In addition, portraits, including commissioned portraits, were of ever-increasing importance. Andy Warhol died on 22 February 1987. During his lifetime, he had founded the Andy Warhol Foundation of Visual Arts, which, alongside his family, received a large portion of his estimated fortune of over 100 million US dollars. Today the foundation is compiling a comprehensive catalogue raisonné of his works.

In 1962 Warhol had his first solo show at the Ferus Gallery in Los Angeles with his series of “Campbell’s Soup” paintings. He was represented at documenta 4 in 1968 with his “Ten Marilyns” series, as well as at documenta 6 in 1977 and documenta 7 in 1982. Countless group and solo shows have paid homage to the work of this American artist: in 2020 the Museum Ludwig in Cologne, which, thanks to the collector couple Peter and Irene Ludwig, owns the largest Warhol collection outside the United States, held a comprehensive retrospective of Andy Warhol’s work in cooperation with the Tate Modern in London.
Andy Warhol revolutionised the art of the 20th century by turning away from the classical concept of fine art, elevating the everyday and the trivial to the level of art, and also by affording commerce a high status.

Portraits feature in Andy Warhol’s oeuvre from the beginning right up to his late work. “Teen Stars” from 1963 is the first series in which he focussed exclusively on the portrait. This series includes Warren Beatty and Natalie Wood, the young stars of American cinema. Shortly afterwards came the first portraits of Marilyn Monroe, which are amongst the icons of his oeuvre.

What all the portraits have in common is that the original images come from newspapers or Polaroids (especially in the later paintings) as well as the almost endless experimentation with colour combinations and seriality: for example, Elvis, from a single image to a sequence in the manner of a contact sheet, in one work. Amongst the most prominent subjects were Marilyn Monroe, Elizabeth Taylor, Jackie Kennedy, Elvis Presley and Mick Jagger.
In addition to the stars, Warhol also wanted to portray society, and so over time he accepted more and more commissioned portraits from high society clients. They were of course a secure source of income, which would finance his extravagant lifestyle, but also his parallel projects. At the same time, however, with these numerous portraits Warhol succeeded in depicting an imposing cross-section of American society, whereby the commissioned portraits covered high society, while his own projects such as “Ladies and Gentleman” from 1975 (Lot ????) or “Ten Portraits of Jews of the Twentieth Century” (1980) represented those facets not always accepted by society.

The present painting shows Lola Jacobson, who along with her husband Donald, were well known and highly regarded because of their numerous charitable and philanthropic projects, such as the founding of the Mount Sinai Medical Center in New York. As a local celebrity and no doubt welcome guest at any party, Lola Jacobson was one of the typical motifs for Warhol’s commissioned portraits.

CHF 180 000 / 240 000

€ 157 890 / 210 530

Sold for CHF 207 700 (including buyer’s premium)
All information is subject to change.

Lot 3752 - A193 PostWar & Contemporary - Samstag, 04. Juli 2020, 14.00 Uhr

ANDY WARHOL

(Pittsburgh 1928–1987 New York)
Lola Jacobson. 1985.
Siebdruck und Acryl auf Leinwand.
Auf der Überlappung mit den Stempeln: The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts und The Estate of Andy Warhol. Zudem auf dem Keilrahmen mit der Archivnummer: P050.072.
101,5 × 101,5 cm.

Provenienz:
- Nachlass des Künstlers.
- The Andy Warhol Foundation of the Visual Arts, New York.
- Jane Holzer, New York.
- Privatsammlung New York.
- Auktion Sotheby's New York, 15.11.2000, Los 314.
- Privatsammlung Schweiz.

Am 6. August 1928 wird Andy Warhol als drittes Kind einer russischen Immigrantenfamilie in Pittsburgh geboren. Mit acht Jahren erkrankt er am Veitstanz und einer seltenen Pigmentstörung, wodurch man ihn oft für einen Albino hält. Gefesselt ans Bett entdeckt er seine Leidenschaft für Comics und Kinofilme. Von 1945 – 1949 studiert Warhol Gebrauchsgrafik am Carnegie Institute of Technology, wo er seinen Abschluss in Malerei und Design macht. Es zieht den jungen Warhol in den Hotspot für Kunst und Literatur – nach New York. Dort arbeitet er als Schaufensterdekorateur und wird bald zum gefragtesten Werbedesigner der Stadt. Seine ersten Zeichnungen werden 1950 in der Zeitschrift „Mademoiselle“ veröffentlicht. Mit der Designerin Suzie Frankfurt entwickelt er die drop-and-dripping Technik, bei der er mit Tusche und Tinte gemalte Motive mit Löschpapier kopiert und auf ein weiteres Blatt überträgt – eine Vorstufe zu seiner später präferierten Technik des Siebdrucks. So entstehen zahlreiche Grusskarten, Werbegeschenke, Beiträge für Magazine aber auch Kochbücher. Bei sogenannten „Colouring Parties“ lässt er Freunde und Gäste diese Werke ausmalen – auch hier schon ein Hinweis auf seine spätere serielle Produktion und die Factory.

Ende der 1950er Jahre entscheidet er sich, dem Grafikdesign den Rücken zu kehren und als Künstler zu arbeiten. Wie kein anderer vor ihm setzt er sich mit der veränderten Gesellschaft auseinander. Er sucht Alltagsgegenstände, Ereignisse, Stars und Sternchen, die in Jedermanns Leben vorkommen und für jeden eine wie auch immer geartete Bedeutung haben. Seien es Artikel des Massenkonsums, wie die bekannten Campbell´s Soup Dosen, die in den 1950er/60er Jahren in keiner Vorratskammer in den USA und England gefehlt haben, oder Prominente wie James Dean, Jacky Kennedy und Marylin Monroe, an deren Schicksal eine ganze Generationen teilgenommen hat. Meisterlich nutzt Warhol Comics, Zeitungsfotos und Bilder von Stars, Sternchen, Unfällen, aber auch von Ereignissen oder Gegenständen, und erhebt sie durch die Verwendung in seinen Kunstwerken und die zeitgleiche serielle Ausführung zu Ikonen nicht nur seiner, sondern auch unserer Zeit. Zu Beginn der 1960er Jahre beginnt er den Siebdruck für sich zu entdecken, dessen Technik ihm die Serialität, die immanent für sein Werk ist, ermöglicht. Mit der 1962 gegründeten Factory treibt er sie auf die Spitze.

1968 verübt die radikale Frauenrechtlerin Valerie Solanas ein Attentat auf Warhol. Daraufhin zieht er sich immer mehr zurück, die ehemals experimentelle Factory verschreibt sich zunehmend der Kommerzialisierung seiner Kunst. Durch das Erlebte und den späteren Tod seiner Mutter erhält das Thema Tod Einzug in Warhols Werk. Zudem bekommen Porträts, auch Auftragsporträts, einen immer grösseren Stellenwert. Am 22. Februar 1987 stirbt Andy Warhol. Noch zu Lebzeiten hat er die Andy Warhol Foundation of Visual Arts ins Leben gerufen, die neben der Familie einen Grossteil seines auf über 100 Millionen US-Dollar geschätzten Vermögens bekommt. Heute erstellt die Foundation das umfassende Verzeichnis seiner Werke.

1962 hat Warhol seine erste Einzelausstellung in der Ferus Gallery in Los Angeles mit seiner Serie von „Campell’s Soup“ Gemälden. Er ist sowohl auf der documenta 4 1968 mit seinen „Ten Marilyns“ vertreten als auch auf der documenta 6 (1977) und 7 (1982). Unzählige Gruppen- und Einzelausstellungen ehren das Werk des Amerikaners; 2020 zeigt das Museum Ludwig Köln, dass Dank des Sammlerehepaars Peter und Irene Ludwig die grösste Warhol Sammlung ausserhalb der USA sein Eigen nennt, in Kooperation mit der Tate Modern in London eine umfassende Retrospektive Andy Warhols.
Andy Warhol hat die Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts revolutioniert, indem er sich vom klassischen Begriff der Bildenden Kunst abwendet, das Alltägliche und Triviale zur Kunst erhöht und auch dem Kommerz einen hohen Stellenwert einräumt.

Porträts finden sich in Andy Warhols Oeuvre von den Anfängen bis hin zu seinem Spätwerk. „Teen Stars“ von 1963 ist die erste Serie, in der er sich ausschliesslich dem Porträt widmet. Zu dieser Folge gehören u.a. Porträts von Warren Beatty und Natalie Wood, den Jungstars des amerikanischen Kinos. Kurz darauf folgen die ersten Porträts von Marilyn Monroe, die zu den Ikonen seines Oeuvres gehören.
Allen Porträts gemein ist die Verwendung von Vorlagen aus Zeitschriften oder auch Polaroids (vor allem in den späteren Gemälden) und das schier endlose Experimentieren mit Farbkombinationen und Serialität – so gibt es z.B. Elvis von einer Einzeldarstellung bis hin zu kontaktbögen-artigen Aufreihungen in einem Werk. Zu den prominesten Porträtierten gehören Marilyn Monroe, Elisabeth Taylor, Jackie Kennedy, Elvis Presley und Mick Jagger.

Neben den Stars will Warhol aber auch immer die Gesellschaft abbilden, und so nimmt er mit der Zeit immer mehr Auftragsporträts aus der gehobenen Gesellschaft an. Sie sind natürlich eine sichere Einnahmequelle, um das eigene ausschweifende Leben, aber auch parallel laufende Projekte zu finanzieren. Doch gleichzeitig gelingt es Warhol mit diesen zahlreichen Bildnissen auch, einen imposanten Querschnitt der amerikanischen Gesellschaft abzubilden, wobei die Auftragsporträts eher die High Society abdecken und dagegen eigene Projekte wie „Ladies and Gentleman“ aus dem Jahr 1975 (Los 3862) oder „Ten Portraits of Jews of the Twentieth Century“ (1980) auch die von der Gesellschaft nicht immer akzeptierten Facetten darstellen.

Das vorliegende Gemälde zeigt Lola Jacobson, die mit ihrem Mann Donald durch ihre zahlreichen wohltätigen und philantropischen Projekte, wie der Gründung des Mount Sinai Medical Center in New York bekannt und hoch angesehen war. Als sogenannte Celebrity und wohl gern gesehener Gast auf jeder Party, gehört Lola Jacobson zu den typischen Motiven für Warhols Auftragsporträts.

CHF 180 000 / 240 000

€ 168 220 / 224 300

Verkauft für CHF 207 700 (inkl. Aufgeld)
Angaben ohne Gewähr