Lot 1026 ♣ - A198 Furniture, Porcelain & Silver - Thursday, 30. September 2021, 01.00 PM

FOLDABLE AND PORTABLE SUN DIAL

Renaissance, Nuremberg, signed Paulus Reinmann and dated 1606. Paulus Reinmann, Nuremberg 1557–1609.
Ivory with red and black engraving. Baseplate with a compass with engraved declination and cardinal points. Circumferential hour scale of 4-12-8. Below, a concave scale with the numerical sequence 8-23-16. The inside of the cover is engraved with various cities and their latitudes, above, a scale with the signs of the zodiac. String gnomon missing. Perforation. The back of the baseplate (bottom) features a moon clock with a gilt brass moon disc surrounded by day- and hour scales, 4 brass feet. Engraved inscription "Epacta Gregorii Anno 1603". On the cover (outside), the compass rose with 16 cardinal points and scale from 1-32, hands designed as a human hand and a peephole for observing the compass.
Closed 10 x 6.5 cm.
This object contains material of endangered species and is subject to certain trade restrictions. Prospective buyers should familiarize themselves with relevant customs regulations prior to bidding if they intend to import it into another country.


Compass needle and glass cover missing. Fine cracks, hinge wire incomplete.

The observation of the sun's course is the most original manner of determining time. For the longest time, mechanical pocket watches were expensive and prone to failure. Therefore, foldable and portable sundials remained everyday timekeepers until around 1800. Furthermore, they were also indispensable for setting clocks.

The Reinmann family was one of Nuremberg's most famous compass-making families. Nine family members were compass makers. Many sundials are still known from the compass maker Paul Reinmann. These are on exhibit in the international museums of Oxford, London and Chicago, and one of them is also on exhibit in the Germanic National Museum in Nuremberg. (Frank Liebau: Die Kompassmacher aus Nürnberg und Fürth, 2017. Online edition).

CHF 4 000 / 6 000

€ 3 740 / 5 610

Sold for CHF 3 125 (including buyer’s premium)
All information is subject to change.

Ich bin bereits registriert - Login:


Sie haben noch kein Login?

Klicken Sie hier um sich zu registrieren



Lot 1026 ♣ - A198 Decorative Arts - Donnerstag, 30. September 2021, 13.00 Uhr

KLAPPBARE REISESONNENUHR

Renaissance, Nürnberg, sign. Paulus Reinmann sowie datiert 1606. Paulus Reinmann, Nürnberg 1557–1609.
Elfenbein mit rot und schwarz kolorierten Gravuren. Grundplatte mit Kompass mit eingravierter Missweisung und Himmelsrichtungen. Umlaufend die Stundenskala von 4-12-8. Darunter eine konkave Skalierung mit Zahlenfolge 8-23-16. Die Innenseite des Deckels graviert mit diversen Städten und deren Polhöhen, darüber eine Skalierung mit den Sternzeichen. Fadengnomon fehlt. Durchbrechung. Auf der Rückseite der Grundplatte (Boden) befindet sich eine Monduhr mit vergoldeter Messing-Mondscheibe umgeben von Tages- und Stundenskalen, vier Messingfüsschen. Gravierte Beschriftung "Epacta Gregorii Anno 1603". Auf dem Deckel (aussen) die Windrose mit 16 Himmelsrichtungen und Skala von 1-32, Zeiger in Form einer Hand sowie Guckloch für Kompass.
Geschlossen 10 x 6,5 cm.
Für den Export dieses Objekts ist eine CITES-Bescheinigung notwendig. Die Beschaffung dieses Dokuments obliegt dem Käufer. Der Versand ins Ausland ist durch Koller Auktionen nicht möglich. Bitte kontaktieren Sie die Abteilung für weitere Informationen.

Kompassnadel sowie Glasabdeckung fehlen. Feine Risse, Scharnierverdrahtung unvollständig.

Die Beobachtung des Sonnenlaufs ist die ursprünglichste Form der Zeitbestimmung. Mechanische Taschenuhren waren lange Zeit teuer und störanfällig. So blieben Klapp- und Tischsonnenuhren bis gegen 1800 Zeitmesser für den Alltag. Auch zum Stellen der Uhren waren sie noch lange unverzichtbar.

Die Familie Reinmann wird in Nürnberg als eine der bekanntesten Kompassmacherfamilien geführt. Neun Familienmitglieder waren Kompassmacher. Vom Kompassmacher Paul Reinmann sind noch heute sehr viele Sonnenuhren bekannt. Diese werden in den internationalen Museen von Oxford, London und Chicago ausgestellt. Aber auch im Germanischen Nationalmuseum in Nürnberg ist ein Exemplar ausgestellt. (Frank Liebau: Die Kompassmacher aus Nürnberg und Fürth, 2017. Online-Ausgabe)

CHF 4 000 / 6 000 | (€ 4 120 / 6 190)

Verkauft für CHF 3 125 (inkl. Aufgeld)
Angaben ohne Gewähr