Lot 3541* - A191 PostWar & Contemporary - Saturday, 07. December 2019, 02.00 PM

SUBODH GUPTA

(1964 Khagaul, Bihar/Indien - lives and works in New-Delhi)
Untitled. #11. 2006.
Aluminium. 3/3.
46 x 54 x 75 cm.

With the written confirmation by the artist, Basel, June 2006.

Provenance:
- Arist's studio.
- Galerie Art & Public, Geneva.
- Private collection Switzerland.
- Simon Studer Art, Geneva.
- Swiss corporate collection.

The Indian artist Subodh Gupta was born in 1964 in Bihar, the youngest of six children. After completing school, between 1983 and 1988 he attended the College of Arts & Crafts in Patna, where he graduated in 1988. From time to time he worked for a newspaper. Already during his time as a student, he exhibited regularly, and in 1993 the group show “Contemporary Indian Artists” took place in Dubai, which was his first exhibition outside India. His first great success came with the New York-based Peter Nagy Gallery, who showed the artist’s kitchen utensils installation for the first time in his branch in New Delhi in 2000. In 2007 the installation “Gandhi’s Three Monkeys” attracted a great deal of interest at Art Basel. In the same year Hauser&Wirth included Gupta in their programme. Also in 2007, he took part in the Venice Biennale. Today he is one of the most well-known and successful artists in Asia.

Gupta, in his artworks is closely connected to his homeland, its rural side and its traditions. In his famous sculptures using kitchen utensils, he assembles stainless steel kitchenware into monumental installations. However, other everyday objects such as clay vessels and bicycles can also be found in his works. So, he draws a picture of the economically, culturally and socially complex society of today’s India.

The present work from 2006 is reminiscent of a tightly tied sack with clothes for example, and immediately triggers associations with India. Without being able to name it exactly, the viewer has the feeling of having already seen a picture of a person in photos and documents carrying just such a package.

CHF 15 000 / 25 000

€ 13 160 / 21 930

Sold for CHF 30 800 (including buyer’s premium)
All information is subject to change.

Lot 3541* - A191 PostWar & Contemporary - Samstag, 07. Dezember 2019, 14.00 Uhr

SUBODH GUPTA

(1964 Khagaul - lebt und arbeitet in Neu-Delhi)
Ohne Titel #11. 2006.
Aluminium. 3/3.
46 x 54 x 75 cm.

Mit der schriftlichen Bestätigung des Künstlers, Basel, Juni 2006.

Provenienz:
- Atelier des Künstler.
- Galerie Art & Public, Genf.
- Schweizer Privatsammlung.
- Simon Studer Art, Genf.
- Schweizer Firmensammlung.

Der indische Künstler Subodh Gupta wird 1964 als jüngstes von sechs Kindern in Bihar geboren. Nach der Schule besucht er zwischen 1983 und 1988 das College of Arts & Crafts in Patna, das er 1988 erfolgreich abschliesst. Zeitweise arbeitet er bei einer Zeitung. Schon zu Studienzeiten stellt er regelmässig aus, 1993 erfolgt dann mit der Gruppenausstellung „Contemporary Indian Artists“ in Dubai die erste Ausstellung ausserhalb Indiens. Der erste grosse Erfolg stellt sich mit der in New York ansässigen Galerie Peter Nagy ein, der in seiner Dependenz in Neu-Delhi 2000 erstmals eine Küchenutensilien Installation des Künstlers zeigt. 2007 erregt die Installation „Gandhi’s Three Monkeys“ grosse Aufmerksamkeit auf der Art Basel. Im selben Jahr nehmen Hauser&Wirth Gupta in ihr Programm auf. Ebenfalls 2007 nimmt er an der Biennale in Venedig teil. Heute zählt er zu den bekanntesten und erfolgreichsten Künstlern Asiens.

Gupta ist in seinen Kunstwerken seiner Heimat, und zwar dem ländlichen Teil, und dessen Tradition eng verbunden. In seinen bekannten Küchenutensilien-Skulpturen nutzt er Edelstahl-Küchengeschirr und setzt es zu monumentalen Installationen zusammen. Aber auch andere alltägliche Gegenstände wie Tongefässe und Fahrräder finden sich in seinen Werken wieder. Er zeichnet so ein Bild der wirtschaftlich, kulturell und sozial komplexen Gesellschaft des heutigen Indiens.

Die vorliegende Arbeit von 2006 erinnert an einen eng geschnürten Sack mit z.B. Kleidern und weckt sofort die Assoziation zu Indien. Ohne es genau benennen zu können, hat der Betrachter das Gefühl, das Bild eines Menschen, der genau so ein Packet trägt, bereits in Fotos bzw. Dokumentationen über Indien gesehen zu haben.

CHF 15 000 / 25 000

€ 14 020 / 23 360

Verkauft für CHF 30 800 (inkl. Aufgeld)
Angaben ohne Gewähr