Lot 3401 - A195 PostWar & Contemporary - Saturday, 05. December 2020, 02.30 PM

GEORGES NOËL

(Béziers 1924–2010 Paris)
Palimpseste zones de pensée. 1962.
Oil and sand on canvas.
Signed lower left: Georges Noël. Also verso signed, dated, titled and with directional arrow palimpseste "zones de pensée" 1962 Georges Noël. Furthermore with the canceled signature, title and date: "Palimpseste très gris" Georges Noël 1960.
116.5 × 89 cm.

This work will be included in the forthcoming catalogue raisonné of the works by George Noël. We thank the Estate to George Noël for its kind support.

Provenance: By descent to the present owner, since then privately owned Switzerland.

Born in Béziers in 1924, Georges Noël first began to study engineering in 1938. Having decided to dedicate himself to art, at the end of the 1950s he developed a painting technique based on Polyvinyl acetate and so his first works known as Palimpsests were produced.

His works from the 1960s, of which the present piece is an example, are noted for their use of a strict sign language, with progressively more symbols from archaic cultures. By examining these cultures and their symbolism, this gives access to a spiritual element in his art. Alongside Informel Art, to which he is very close, he also engaged closely with Minimal Art when travelling in the United States, and lived for some years in Minneapolis and New York. In 1982 he finally returned to his home in France and died in Paris in 2010.

CHF 7 000 / 9 000

€ 6 540 / 8 410

Lot 3401 - A195 PostWar & Contemporary - Samstag, 05. Dezember 2020, 14.30 Uhr

GEORGES NOËL

(Béziers 1924–2010 Paris)
Palimpseste zones de pensée. 1962.
Öl und Sand auf Leinwand.
Unten links signiert: Georges Noël. Zudem verso signiert, datiert, betitelt sowie mit Richtungspfeil: palimpseste "zones de pensée" 1962 Georges Noël. Weiterhin mit dem durchgestrichenen Titel, Signatur und Datierung: "Palimpseste très gris" Georges Noël 1960.
116,5 × 89 cm.

Das vorliegende Werk wird in den in Vorbereitung befindlichen Catalogue raisonné der Werke von Georges Noël aufgenommen. Wir danken dem Estate George Noël für seine freundliche Unterstützung.

Provenienz: Durch Erbschaft an den heutigen Besitzer, seitdem Privatbesitz Schweiz.

1924 in Béziers geboren, beginnt Georges Noël 1938 zunächst ein Studium der Ingenieurwissenschaften. Mit der Entscheidung, sich der Kunst zu widmen, entwickelt er Ende der 1950er Jahre eine Maltechnik basierend auf Polyvinylazetat, und es entstehen seine ersten sogenannten Palimpseste.

Seine Werke der 1960er Jahre, zu denen auch das vorliegende gehört, zeichnen sich durch eine strenge Zeichensprache aus, wobei er zunehmend Symbole archaischer Kulturen verwendet. Mit der Auseinandersetzung dieser Kulturen und ihrer Symbolik erhält auch die Spiritualität Einzug in seine Kunst. Neben dem Informel, dem er sehr nahe steht, setzt er sich durch eine USA-Reise auch intensiv mit der Minimal Art auseinander und lebt einige Jahre in Minneapolis und New York. 1982 kehrt er endgülig in seine Heimat Frankreich zurück und verstirbt 2010 in Paris.

CHF 7 000 / 9 000

€ 6 540 / 8 410

Verkauft für CHF 12 500 (inkl. Aufgeld)
Angaben ohne Gewähr