Lot 3455* - A197 PostWar & Contemporary - Thursday, 01. July 2021, 05.00 PM

ANDY WARHOL

(Pittsburgh 1928–1987 New York)
Terrier (from: Toys series). 1983.
Synthetic polymer and screenprint on canvas.
Signed and dated on the overlap: Andy Warhol 83. Also numbered on the stretcher: 5.
35.5 × 28 cm.

Andy Warhol revolutionised art with his Pop Art and is undoubtedly one of the most influential artists of the 20th century. After a nervous breakdown at the age of eight, Warhol remained bedridden for several weeks and discovered a passion for comics, films, drawing and handicrafts.

After studying pictorial design and graduating with a degree in painting and design, in 1950 he moved to New York, where he discovered modern consumer society with its many temptations, dark sides, celebrities, headlines and tragedies. Fascinated by this world, Warhol soon rose to become the city's most successful commercial artist. Yet he wanted more. He wanted to become an artist and quickly transformed the most banal everyday objects into sought-after artworks. At the beginning of the 1960s, this virtuoso artistic genius discovered silkscreen printing, a technique that enabled him to create series of works and to work at a furious pace. With his Factory, founded in 1962, which became the epitome of the world of art, music and glamour, the annual production of his paintings increased in leaps and bounds.

"It must have been Walt Disney. I cut out Walt Disney Dolls. It was actually Snow White that influenced me", Warhol said in answer to the question of which artist influenced him first. Since his artistic work had always been guided by the ethos of play, it is hardly surprising that he immediately took to the idea suggested by his gallerist Bruno Bischofberger of creating an exhibition especially for children.

The "Terrier" at play in the offered painting is part of the "Toys Series" of 128 works with monkeys, parrots, clowns and robots. Warhol found inspiration for the small-format works in his private collection of wind-up tin toys. The cute terrier captivates with its eager playfulness and takes the viewer on a journey into the realm of children’s play.

CHF 50 000 / 70 000

€ 46 730 / 65 420

Sold for CHF 201 600 (including buyer’s premium)
All information is subject to change.

Lot 3455* - A197 PostWar & Contemporary - Donnerstag, 01. Juli 2021, 17.00 Uhr

ANDY WARHOL

(Pittsburgh 1928–1987 New York)
Terrier (aus: Toys series). 1983.
Synthetisches Polymer und Siebdruck auf Leinwand.
Auf der überlappenden Leinwand signiert und datiert: Andy Warhol 83. Zudem auf dem Keilrahmen nummeriert: 5.
35,5 × 28 cm.

Andy Warhol hat mit seiner Pop-Art die Kunst revolutioniert und gehört zweifelsfrei zu den prägendsten Künstlern des 20. Jahrhunderts.

Nach einem Nervenzusammenbruch im Alter von acht Jahren bleibt Warhol für mehrere Wochen ans Bett gefesselt und entwickelt eine Leidenschaft für Comics, Filme, Zeichnen und Basteln. Nach dem Studium für Bildgestaltung und seinem Abschluss in Malerei und Design zieht er 1950 nach New York, wo er die moderne Konsumgesellschaft mit ihren zahlreichen Versuchungen, Schattenseiten, Berühmtheiten, Schlagzeilen und Tragödien entdeckt. Fasziniert von dieser Welt avanciert Warhol schon bald zum erfolgreichsten Werbegrafiker der Stadt. Doch er will mehr. Er will Künstler werden und verwandelt kurzerhand banalste Alltagsgegenstände in begehrte Kunstobjekte. Zu Beginn der 1960er Jahre beginnt das brillante Genie den Siebdruck für sich zu entdecken, dessen Technik ihm die Serialität sowie ein furioses Arbeitstempo ermöglichen. Mit seiner im Jahr 1962 gegründeten Factory, die zum Inbegriff der Kunst-, Musik- und Glamourszene wird, steigt die Jahresproduktion seiner Bilder sprunghaft an.

"It must have been Walt Disney. I cut out Walt Disney Dolls. It was actually Snow White that influenced me", antwortet Warhol auf die Frage, welcher Künstler ihn als Erster beeinflusst hat. Da seine künstlerische Arbeit schon immer vom Spielethos geleitet worden ist, erstaunt es kaum, dass ihm die Idee seines Galeristen Bruno Bischofberger, eigens eine Ausstellung für Kinder zu machen, auf Anhieb gefällt.

Der spielende "Terrier" auf dem vorliegenden Gemälde ist Teil der "Toys Series" von 128 Werken mit Affen, Papageien, Clowns und Robotern. Inspiration für die kleinformatigen Arbeiten findet Warhol in seiner privaten Sammlung von aufziehbarem Blechspielzeug. Der putzige Terrier besticht mit seiner herzhaften Verspieltheit und entführt den Betrachter auf eine Reise ins Reich der Kinderspielwelt.

CHF 50 000 / 70 000

€ 46 730 / 65 420

Verkauft für CHF 201 600 (inkl. Aufgeld)
Angaben ohne Gewähr