Lot 1305* ♣ - A198 Ivory collection - Thursday, 30. September 2021, 11.00 AM

TRIPTYCH DESIGNED AS A BISHOP

Germany, ca. 1860/80.
Ivory, carved all around in the form of a bishop with a bishop's hat and staff. The figure opens up into two wings, the inside depicting the Coronation of Henry III and inscribed "Duke of Anjou King of Poland".
H 28 cm.
This object contains material of endangered species and is subject to certain trade restrictions. Prospective buyers should familiarize themselves with relevant customs regulations prior to bidding if they intend to import it into another country.


Cracks.

Such folding altars in figural form enjoyed great popularity in the 19th century. They are an invention of that time and stylistically hark back to earlier eras. The motifs are both secular and religious, and can also be mixed.

Models of the same shape appear again and again on the antiques market. A figure of a bishop with a triptych opening onto a coronation scene, on offer on the Internet platform Catawiki, shows a great similarity to the object on offer (8 February 2021, Lot No. 44586467). Except for a few different decorative elements and the missing inscription, the two figures are related.

Another example for comparison is a bishop's figure, which was offered at the Auction House Hampel (26 March 2011, Lot No. 1357). The bishop's figure, dated 1850 and classified as a French work, depicts Saint Erasmus holding a crozier and opens up into a six-panel triptych depicting scenes from the Life of Christ.

CHF 800 / 1 200

€ 750 / 1 120

Lot 1305* ♣ - A198 Sammlung von Elfenbeinobjekten - Donnerstag, 30. September 2021, 11.00 Uhr

TRIPTYCHON IN FORM EINES BISCHOFS

Deutschland, um 1860/80.
Elfenbein vollrund geschnitten in Form eines Bischofs mit Bischofshut und Stab. Die Figur auf zwei Flügel öffnend, innen die Krönung von Henri III darstellend sowie bezeichnet "Herzog von Anyou König von Polen".
H 28 cm.
Für den Export dieses Objekts ist eine CITES-Bescheinigung notwendig. Die Beschaffung dieses Dokuments obliegt dem Käufer. Der Versand ins Ausland ist durch Koller Auktionen nicht möglich. Bitte kontaktieren Sie die Abteilung für weitere Informationen.

Risse.

Solche Klappaltare in figürlicher Form erfreuten sich im 19. Jh. grosser Beliebtheit. Sie sind eine Erfindung jener Zeit und greifen stilistisch auf frühere Epochen zurück. Als Motive finden sich sowohl weltliche als auch religiöse, wobei diese durchaus auch gemischt sein können.

Formgleiche Modelle tauchen immer wieder auf dem Antiquitätenmarkt auf. Eine über die Internet-Plattform Catawiki angebotene Figur eines Bischofs mit einem sich auf eine Krönungsszene öffnenden Triptychon weist grosse Parallelen zum vorliegenden Objekt auf (8.2.2021, Lot Nr. 44586467). Bis auf wenige abweichende Dekorelemente und der fehlenden Inschrift sind die beiden Figuren jedoch verwandt.

Als weiteres Vergleichsbeispiel kann eine Bischofsfigur, welche beim Auktionshaus Hampel angeboten wurde, herangezogen werden (26.3.2011, Lot 1357). Die Bischofsfigur, datiert auf 1850 und als französische Arbeit eingeordnet, zeigt den Heiligen Erasmus mit Bischofsstab, der sich in ein sechsfach unterteiltes Triptychon mit Szenen aus dem Leben Christi aufklappt.

CHF 800 / 1 200

€ 750 / 1 120

Verkauft für CHF 2 750 (inkl. Aufgeld)
Angaben ohne Gewähr