History

"What's important is the passion."
Pierre Koller



Koller Auctions has been an integral part of the Swiss art market for over half a century. A book about the company's history by respected art market journalist Christian von Faber-Castell was published in 2008 on the occasion of Koller's 50th anniversary. Zürcher Werd Verlag.







A brief history of Koller Auctions

1958 – Pierre Koller, having spent his youth between the French and German parts of Switzerland (Lausanne and Zurich), decides to make a career out of his hobby. At age 34, he opens a gallery of equestrian engravings and antique furniture on Zurich's Dufourstrasse. The timing was right, and Pierre Koller took advantage of his excellent contacts to establish himself on the Zurich market.

1959 – Pierre's sister Antoinette joins the business, contributing her specialized knowledge of Asian art and porcelain. At this time, a German clock collector offers to sell his entire collection to Koller, but the asking price of 100 000 Swiss francs is over the young entrepreneur's budget. Not wanting to miss the opportunity, however, Pierre Koller convinces the collector to consign his clocks for auction.

1960 – The first auction is held in the Zurich Kongresshaus. Approximately 1000 lots are catalogued and sold, successfully. One year later, another auction is held with furniture, porcelain and modern art, including Swiss and international artists such as Ferdinand Hodler and Eugène Boudin.

1961 – The Galerie Koller moves to spacious premises at Rämistrasse 8, in Zurich's cultural centre, close to museums, the municipal theatre and the opera. Auctions gain in importance over antique dealing, and the firm soon holds two auctions annually.

1977 – "Koller Tiefenbrunnen," a branch for arcade auctions, is opened. The ancestor of today's "Koller West" across the street from Koller's main galleries, Koller's arcade auctions provide a separation between sales of top-quality and middle-range works of art, and allow the company to handle entire estates and large collections.

1980 – The Koller Geneva branch office is opened and becomes the second location for auctions after Zurich. With auctions in November and May dedicated to Art Nouveau, Art Deco, Design, Modern Art as well as Wine and Modern Illustrated Books, the Geneva office quickly develops its own profile.

1990 – The Zurich headquarters moves to a new, larger and more practical space on Hardturmstrasse 102 in west Zurich. The rationalization of office, exhibition and warehouse space is greatly appreciated by the clientele as well as the employees of Koller, as is its proximity to the main train station as well as to the Zurich airport. At this time, Cyril Koller, the eldest son of Pierre and Ursula Koller, begins working at the company at the age of 23.

1995 – An exquisite collection of Napoleonica is offered for auction in a single-owner catalogue of important furniture, sculpture, clocks and bronzes, all closely associated with the emperor and his circle. The catalogue became a reference work in the field and cemented Koller's reputation as one of the world's leading auction houses for Empire period furniture & decorative arts.

1997 – Koller opens a representative office in Munich.

1998 – Cyril Koller takes over the management of the company. Under his direction, the auction house evolves from a "general store"-type operation to a modern enterprise with various teams of specialists under one roof. The passing of Antoinette Koller, who brought the Asian art department of Koller to an international standing, occurs during Koller's 40th anniversary year.

1998 – Koller further develops its international reach by joining IA, International Auctioneers, a group of eight leading auction houses worldwide.

2001 – Koller opens a representative office in Moscow.

2006 – Koller holds its first auction entirely dedicated to Swiss Art. Over the following decades, this department will become one of the pillars of Koller's business. Koller Shanghai opens: Koller is one of the first European auction houses to organize and auction devoted to Chinese contemporary art.

2007 – The Metropolitan Museum of Art purchases a sanguine drawing attributed to Andrea del Sarto for its permanent collection.

2008 – Koller celebrates its 50th anniversary. Its name is officially changed from "Galerie Koller" to "Koller Auctions." In September, a still life on copper by the Netherlandish artist Ambrosius Bosschaert, discovered by Koller's specialists in a private collection, sells for the world record price of CHF 5.7 million. Its jubilee anniversary also witnesses Koller's first auction dedicated entirely to contemporary art.
Koller opens a representative office in Düsseldorf.

2011 – Koller opens a representative office in Beijing.

2012 – The market for Asian Art reaches new summits. The Asian Art department at Koller auctions a Tibetan bronze of the goddess Panca Raksha for the record price of CHF 3.24 million. In the same year the Nessi Collection comes to auction, with over 500 rare antique tools and instruments.

2013 – In June, Koller auctions several paintings from the prestigious Corboud Collection – including a landscape by Vincent van Gogh from 1887 for CHF 6.6 million. The record price realized for a work by Albert Anker also creates a sensation, when the "Gym Lesson" sells for CHF 7.5 million. During this record-breaking year, numerous Old Masters and works of Modern Art sell for beyond the million mark, including paintings by Renoir, Monet, Signac, Pissarro, Caillebotte, Dou, Reni and many more.
Koller opens a representative office in Italy.

2014  – An extremely rare bureau plat by the important French ébéniste André-Charles Boulle attains CHF 3 million. This desk, which was conserved in the family of the French Finance Minister Charles-Henri Malon de Bercy (1678–1742), is among Boulle's most significant works and is considered to be a reference in the field of French cabinetmaking of the early 18th century.

2015 – One of the most important paintings by Albert Anker, "The Wine Festival", is sold for CHF 4.2 million. It was originally in the collection of a winegrower who needed to raise money to repair the roof of his home, and was acquired in 1977 by the consignor for the modest sum of the repair.
Koller opens a representative office in Hamburg.
Koller holds its first stand-alone auction of watches. Two years later, prices are regularly realised for watches on an international level, and the percentage sold averages nearly 100%

2016  – Koller sets a new world auction record for a work by Swiss artist Giovanni Giacometti. The "Panorama of Flims" – for many years forgotten in the basement of a luxury hotel before being rediscovered in the 1980s – is acquired by a private collector for CHF 4.05 million. The total realised by the auction of Swiss Art in June (CHF 9.2 million) places Koller once more among the world's leading auction houses in this field.

2017  – A private German collection with highly important Imperial Chinese works is offered at auction by Koller. Thanks to an intensive marketing campaign in China, the works are hotly disputed by Asian collectors, realising prices in the six and seven figures.

2018  – Koller, still in the hands of the same family, celebrates its 60th anniversary.

Histoire

"Le plus important, c'est la passion."
Pierre Koller



Depuis 1958 : Koller fête 60 ans au cœur du marché de l'art

Koller Ventes aux enchères est engagé dans le marché des enchères suisse et international depuis soixante ans. Pour ses cinquante ans, le fameux journaliste spécialisé dans l'art, Christian von Faber Castell a écrit un livre retraçant l'histoire de la maison familiale qui a été publié en 2008 aux édition Werd Verlag.







Soixante ans dédiés à l'art

1958 – Pierre Koller grandit entre Lausanne et Zurich et se passionne vite pour les gravures de chevaux. A l’âge de 34 ans, il a ouvert sa première galerie, la "Galerie Koller", Dufourstrasse à Zurich. Très rapidement, les lieux s’enrichissent d’autres domaines artistiques et de mobilier de prestige qui hissent rapidement le jeune entrepreneur sur la place.

1959 – La sœur de Pierre Koller, Antoinette, rejoint l'entreprise pour élargir l'offre avec l'art asiatique et la porcelaine. La même année, un collectionneur de pendules propose à Koller de racheter sa collection pour la somme de CHF 100 000. Il décide d’organiser une vente aux enchères, la somme étant trop importante pour le jeune entrepreneur.

1960 – La première vente aux enchères à proprement parler se déroule Kongresshaus à Zurich avec un catalogue riche de mille objets. L'année suivante, la seconde vente propose du mobilier, de la porcelaine mais aussi des tableaux modernes de Boudin à Hodler.

1961 – La Galerie Koller prend possession de nouveaux locaux plus spacieux, Rämistrasse tout proche du Kunsthaus, du Grand Théâtre et de l'Opéra. Deux ventes par an viennent désormais rythmer l'épanouissement de la galerie.

1977 – Koller décide d’ouvrir en parallèle une succursale "Koller Tiefenbrunnen" pour les objets plus courants qui ne s’intègrent pas dans le cadre des ventes principales. Ce sera l’ancêtre de la « Koller West » installée aujourd’hui Hardturmstrasse 121. D’apparence modeste, cette idée géniale permet dès lors de disperser de très grandes collections et des successions entières dans un cadre idéal.

1980 – Koller fonde sa succursale à Genève qui deviendra le second lieu de ses ventes. Koller Genève se développe très rapidement et organise deux ventes par an consacrées à l'Art Nouveau, l'Art Déco, le design, l'art moderne, le vin, les livres et autographes.

1990 – Pour une meilleure gestion des espaces, la Galerie Koller déménage Hardturmstrasse. La nouvelle adresse s'avère être un lieu idéal avec ses nombreux bureaux et grands espaces d'exposition dédiés aux ventes, proche de la gare centrale et de l’aéroport de Zurich. Cette année là, Cyril Koller, ainé de trois frères, s'investit au sein de l'entreprise.

1995 – Suite à la vente d’une magnifique collection de « Napoleonica », comprenant mobilier, bronzes, horloges et sculptures ayant un lien direct avec l’Empereur et son entourage, Koller se hisse au rang de maison de vente au prestige international pour les arts décoratifs de l’époque Empire.

1997 – Koller ouvre une succursale à Munich.

1998 – Cyril Koller prend les commandes de l'entreprise qui se spécialise dorénavant dans de très nombreux domaines. Il développe la maison en lui insufflant un esprit moderne et s’entoure d’une équipe d'experts spécialisés. C'est aussi l'année de la mort d'Antoinette Koller qui, à la tête du département d'art asiatique, avait propulsé ces ventes sur le marché international.

1998 – Koller rejoint l’association « International Auctioneers », étendant ainsi d’une manière significative sa portée internationale. L’association comporte neuf maisons de vente dans huit pays. Dans les années qui suivront, Koller ouvrira des bureaux de représentation à Düsseldorf, Shanghai, Moscou et Londres.

2001 – Koller ouvre une filiale à Moscou.

2006 – La première vente de Koller entièrement dédiée à l’Art Suisse a lieu à Zurich. Ce département devient rapidement un des piliers de la maison, établissant de nombreux prix record. La même année, Koller est parmi les premières maisons de ventes aux enchères en Europe à organiser une vente d'art contemporain chinois.

2007 – Le Metropolitan Museum achète chez Koller un dessin à la sanguine attribué à Andrea del Sarto pour leur collection permanente.

2008 – Koller fête en décembre 2008 ses cinquante ans d'activité. Pour marquer l'épanouissement de l'entreprise familiale en tant que maison de ventes aux enchères leader dans le monde, la "Galerie Koller" change de raison sociale et devient "Koller Ventes aux Enchères SA / Koller Auctions Ltd." Encore cette année, Koller découvre dans une collection particulière une nature morte du maître néerlandais Ambrosius Bosschaert, qui sera adjugé en septembre pour CHF 5,7 millions, record mondial pour cet artiste. L’année du jubilée voit aussi la première vente chez Koller dédiée entièrement à l’art contemporain, ainsi que l’ouverture du bureau de Düsseldorf.

2011 – Koller ouvre un bureau de représentation à Beijing.

2012 – Le marché de l’art asiatique atteint de nouveaux sommets. Koller adjuge un bronze tibétain de la déesse Pancha Raksha pour le prix record de CHF 3,24 millions. Durant la même année, Koller présente la vente de la collection Nessi, avec plus de 500 instruments et outils anciens et rares.

2013 – La prestigieuse collection Corboud est présentée en vente chez Koller, notamment un paysage de Vincent van Gogh de 1887 qui est adjugé à CHF 6,6 millions. Cette année de tous les succès voit aussi un prix record de CHF 7,5 millions réalisé pour un tableau d’Albert Anker, « La Leçon de gymnastique à Ins », ainsi que de nombreux prix de vente dépassant le million pour des maîtres anciens et modernes tels que Renoir, Monet, Signac, Pissarro, Caillebotte, Dou, et Reni. Koller continue son expansion à l’étranger en ouvrant un bureau de représentation en Italie.

2014  – Un bureau plat rarissime du célèbre ébéniste André-Charles Boulle est adjugé pour CHF 3 millions. Ce meuble, dont l’histoire s’étend jusqu’à la famille du ministre des finances Charles-Henri Malon de Bercy (1678-1742), est classé parmi les plus importantes pièces de l’ébénisterie française du début du 18e siècle.

2015 – Un des plus importants tableaux d’Albert Anker est vendu pour CHF 4,2 millions. Faisant partie autrefois de la collection d’un vigneron à la recherche de fonds pour la réparation de son toit, il avait été acquis en 1977 par le dernier propriétaire pour le prix modique de cette rénovation.
Koller ouvre une succursale à Hambourg.
La première vente chez Koller dédiée entièrement aux montres a lieu. Deux ans plus tard, Koller enregistre déjà des prix au niveau mondial, et un taux de lots vendus avoisinant 100%

2016  – Koller atteint un nouveau record mondial pour une œuvre d’art réalisée par l’artiste suisse Giovanni Giacometti. Le Panorama de Flims – longtemps laissé à l’abandon dans la cave d’un hôtel de luxe avant d’être redécouverte dans les années 1980 – a été acquis par un collectionneur particulier pour CHF 4,05 millions. Le total de la vente d’Art Suisse au mois de juin (CHF 9,2 millions) place Koller une fois encore au premier rang mondial des maisons de vente dans ce domaine.

2017  – Une collection privée allemande contenant de très importants objets impériaux chinois est mise en vente par Koller. Grâce à une importante campagne de marketing en Chine, les objets sont vivement disputés par des amateurs d’Asie, réalisant des prix dans les six et sept chiffres.

2018  – Koller, toujours entre les mains de la même famille, fête son 60ème anniversaire.