Lot 1011* - A198 Furniture, Porcelain & Silver - Thursday, 30. September 2021, 01.00 PM

ENAMEL PLAQUE "THE ENTOMBMENT OF CHRIST"

Limoges, ca. 1520/30. Attributable to the master craftsman of the Altar of Mesnil-sous-Jumièges.
Depiction of the Entombment of Christ. The body of Christ is placed in the tomb by Joseph of Arimathea. Kneeling in front is Mary Magdalene, behind St. Nicodemus. Behind the tomb is a group of saints, including the Virgin Mary and St. John.
15.5 × 15.5 cm.

Restored.

The composition of the plaque on offer probably goes back to a woodcut by Lucas Cranach the Elder (1472-1553). His original composition of the Entombment is dated 1509 (or earlier) and was created in connection with his cycle of works on the Passion of Christ. The artist of the enamel work on offer adopted the basic structural elements from Cranach. For example, the horizontal tomb, the constellation of figures, the arrangement, the facial expressions, gestures and postures as well as the horizon opening up into a landscape, faithfully follow the original.

Stylistically, the work on offer is strongly reminiscent of works by the master craftsman of the Altar of Mesnil-sous-Jumièges, in particular the Altar in Mesnil-sous-Jumièges from which he obtained his name, and an individual plaque depicting the Crucifixion of Christ. Both works are dated ca. 1520-25 and can be found in the Musée des Beaux Arts in Limoges (Inv. Nos. 376 & 457). Several scenes of the Altar are based on engravings from the "Great Passion" (1508-1512) and the "Small Passion" (1510) by Dürer.

Cf.: Véronique Notin, "Le Maître du retable de Mesnil-sous-Jumièges", BSAHL, 1991, pp. 97-110.

CHF 4 000 / 7 000

€ 3 740 / 6 540

Lot 1011* - A198 Möbel, Porzellan & Silber - Donnerstag, 30. September 2021, 13.00 Uhr

EMAILPLAKETTE GRABLEGUNG CHRISTI

Limoges, um 1520/30. Dem Meister des Altars von Mesnil-sous-Jumièges zuzuschreiben.
Darstellung der Grablegung. Der Leichnam Christi wird von Joseph von Arimathäa in den Sarg gelegt. Davor kniend Maria Magdalena, dahinter der Heilige Nikodemus. Hinter dem Sarg eine Gruppe von Heiligen, darunter die Jungfrau Maria sowie der Heilige Johannes.
15,5 × 15,5 cm.

Restauriert.

Die Komposition der vorliegenden Plakette geht wohl auf einen Holzschnitt Lucas Cranachs d. Ä. (1472-1553) zurück. Dessen Originalkomposition einer Grablegung wird auf 1509 (oder früher) datiert und entstand im Zusammenhang mit dem Werkzyklus zu seiner Passion Christi. Der Künstler unserer Emailarbeit hat die grundlegenden Strukturelemente von Cranach übernommen. So folgen beispielsweise das horizontale Grab, die Figurenkonstellation, das Arrangement, die Mimik, Gestik und Posturen sowie der sich zu einer Landschaft hin öffnende Horizont treu dem Original. Aufgrund der technischen Gegebenheiten hat der Künstler unserer Emailplakette einige Details synthetisiert und dafür Golderhöhungen bzw. Guillochen als ästhetische Intensivierung appliziert.

Stilistisch erinnert unsere Arbeit stark an Werke des Limosiner Meisters des Altars von Mesnil-sous-Jumièges, insbesondere an den namensgebenden Passionsaltar aus Mesnil-sous-Jumièges und an eine Einzelplakette mit einer Kreuzigungsszene. Beide Werke werden um 1520-25 datiert und befinden sich in der Sammlung des Musée des Beaux Arts in Limoges (Inv.-Nr.: 376 & 457). Mehrere Szenen des Altars basieren auf Stichen von Dürer aus der "Passion" (1508-1512) und der "Kleinen Passion" (1510).

Vgl.: Véronique Notin, "Le Maître du retable de Mesnil-sous-Jumièges", BSAHL, 1991, S. 97-110.

CHF 4 000 / 7 000

€ 3 740 / 6 540