Lot 3224* - A198 19th Century Paintings - Friday, 01. October 2021, 04.00 PM

ANDREAS SCHELFHOUT

(1787 The Hague 1870)
Ice skating scene. 1824–29.
Oil on panel.
Signed lower right: A. Schelfhout. f.
37.8 × 48.6 cm.

Provenance:
- With art trade Pieter A. Scheen, The Hague.
- Private collection.
- Sale Venduehuis der Notarissen, The Hague, 15.12.2020, Lot 67.
- Dutch private property.

Literature:
- Willem Laanstra: Andreas Schelfhout, Amsterdam 1995, p. 149, no. WO 38-1 (with ill. / slightly differing dimensions).
- Herman de Vilder and Kris van de Ven: Eugène Verboeckhoven et ses peintres collaborateurs, Sint Niklaas 2006, p. 390, no. 325 (with colour ill.).

Andreas Schelfhout gained renown for his compositions of romantic summer and winter landscapes as well as coastal scenes, and among these the group of so-called ‘Wintertjes’ (pleasures on ice) – to which the present work belongs – remains unsurpassed.

Even during his lifetime, the Dutchman's landscape paintings, carefully executed with technical finesse, enjoyed great popularity. No one else was able to capture the lovely atmosphere of a summer landscape or the frosty cold weather of a winter day in quite the same way as Andreas Schelfhout.

Certain compositions were enhanced with livestock by fellow artists, such as Pieter Gerardus van Os (1776–1839). This could possibly be the case for the figures and the horse on the left side of this composition, which were most likely not executed by Schelfhout himself.

Together with Barend Cornelis Koekkoek (1803–1862), Andreas Schelfhout was one of the most important representatives of Dutch landscape painting of the Romantic period, which is why it is not surprising that well-known artists’ names such as Johan Bartold Jongkind (1816–1907) and Charles Leickert (1819–1891) appear among the list of his pupils.

CHF 12 000 / 18 000

€ 11 210 / 16 820

Sold for CHF 14 940 (including buyer’s premium)
All information is subject to change.

Lot 3224* - A198 Gemälde des 19. Jahrhunderts - Freitag, 01. Oktober 2021, 16.00 Uhr

ANDREAS SCHELFHOUT

(1787 Den Haag 1870)
Eisvergnügen. 1824–29.
Öl auf Holz.
Unten rechts signiert: A. Schelfhout. f.
37,8 × 48,6 cm.

Provenienz:
- Kunsthandel Pieter A. Scheen, Den Haag.
- Privatsammlung.
- Auktion Venduehuis der Notarissen, Den Haag, 15.12.2020, Los 67.
- Niederländischer Privatbesitz.

Literatur:
- Willem Laanstra: Andreas Schelfhout, Amsterdam 1995, S. 149, Nr. WO 38-1 (mit Abb. / minimal abweichende Massangaben).
- Herman de Vilder und Kris van de Ven: Eugène Verboeckhoven et ses peintres collaborateurs, Sint Niklaas 2006, S. 390, Nr. 325 (mit Farbabb.).

Bekanntheit erlangte Andreas Schelfhout für seine Kompositionen romantischer Sommer- und Winterlandschaften sowie Strandszenen, wobei die Werkgruppe der sogenannten "Wintertjes" (dt. Eisvergnügen) unübertroffen bleibt, zu der auch die vorliegende Arbeit gezählt werden darf.

Schon zu Lebzeiten genossen die sorgfältig und mit technischer Raffinesse ausgeführten Landschaftsgemälde des Niederländers grosse Beliebtheit. Kein anderer vermochte es die liebliche Atmosphäre einer Sommerlandschaft oder das frostig kalte Wetter eines Wintertages malerisch so einzufangen wie Andreas Schelfhout.

Gewisse Darstellungen wurden mit Viehstaffagen von Künstlerkollegen, wie Pieter Gerardus van Os (1776–1839) ausgestattet, wovon möglicherweise auch bei den Figuren und dem Pferd auf der linken Seite in dieser Komposition ausgegangen werden kann, die höchstwahrscheinlich nicht von Schelfhout selbst ausgeführt wurden.

Mit Barend Cornelis Koekkoek (1803–1862) zählt Andreas Schelfhout zu den wichtigsten Vertretern der niederländischen Landschaftsmalerei der Romantik, weshalb es nicht verwundert, dass unter der Liste seiner Schüler bekannte Namen wie Johan Bartold Jongkind (1816–1907) und Charles Leickert (1819–1891) auftauchen.

CHF 12 000 / 18 000

€ 11 210 / 16 820

Verkauft für CHF 14 940 (inkl. Aufgeld)
Angaben ohne Gewähr