Lot 3714 - A193 PostWar & Contemporary - Saturday, 04. July 2020, 02.00 PM

LUIS FEITO

(Madrid 1929–lives and works in Paris)
No. 206. 1960.
Oil, pebbles and sand on canvas.
Signed, dated, titled and numbered on the reverse: FEITO 1960 206 BASE.
73.5 × 100.5 cm.

The authenticity of this work has been confirmed orally by the artist, February 2020, Madrid. We thank Mr. Feito for his kind support.

Provenance:
- Private collection Switzerland.
- By descent to the present owner, since then private collection Austria.

Exhibition: Basel 1970, Moon and Space. Galerie Beyeler, January - March 1970, No. 27 (verso with the label).

Luis Feito was born on 31 October 1929 in Madrid, where he still lives today. The Spaniard is one of the most influential exponents of Spanish Informel art.
He studied at the Escuela Superior de Bellas Artes de San Fernando, Madrid, where he graduated in 1950. As early as 1954, he had his first exhibition at Galería Buchholz. Armed with a scholarship, in 1953 Feito got to know the city of Paris, where he moved two years later and would remain for 25 years. In Paris he became acquainted with Informel artists such as Jean Fautrier, Hans Hartung, as well as Serge Poliakoff, Jean Dubuffet and Mark Rothko. These new impressions, his contact with artists, and the energy of the city led him to experiment with various materials such as sand in his paintings. He remained in touch with the artists of the Spanish avant-garde, however, and was one of the founding members of the group El Paso. In 1981 Feito moved to Montreal and then two years later to New York, returning to Madrid in the early 1990s.

During his studies and the period afterwards, Feito focussed on figurative painting but, having discovered Cubism, he turned away from figuration and soon dedicated himself to Informel art. Already in his first exhibition he showed only abstract works. In the late 1950s and early 1960s his colour palette was exclusively black and white, with shades of grey or ochre. He increasingly used materials such as sand and soil, in order to achieve an impastoed surface which is characteristic of his mature work. Through the dense, uneven surface he was able to explore the relationship between light, surface, colour and form. In the 1960s Feito then added red to his palette, which at times dominates the entire composition.

Luis Feito took part in numerous exhibitions in museums and galleries worldwide. On four occasions (1956, 1958, 1960 and 1968) his works were shown at the Venice Biennale, twice in San Paolo, and in 1959 he was represented at the documenta in Kassel. In 2002 the Reina Sofía museum of art organised a touring retrospective. In 1985 he was appointed Officer and then in 1993 Knight Commander of the Ordre des Arts et Lettres de France.
The present work “No. 206” dates from 1960, when Feito’s colour palette was dominated by black and white. From a deep black space, a white form glows on the left edge of the picture, which appears to illuminate that side of the work. It is almost as though a point of light is pushing through from behind a black cloud. The impastoed technique with the dark colours gives the impression of a landscape of craters. The consummate use of the impastoed surfaces lends the work an unbelievable depth and dynamism.

CHF 18 000 / 24 000

€ 15 790 / 21 050

Sold for CHF 51 540 (including buyer’s premium)
All information is subject to change.

Lot 3714 - A193 PostWar & Contemporary - Samstag, 04. Juli 2020, 14.00 Uhr

LUIS FEITO

(Madrid 1929–lebt und arbeitet in Paris)
No. 206. 1960.
Öl, Kieselsteine und Sand auf Leinwand.
Verso signiert, datiert, betitelt und nummeriert: FEITO 1960 206 BASE.
73.5 × 100,5 cm.

Die Authentizität dieses Werks wurde vom Künstler mündlich bestätigt, Madrid, Februar 2020. Wir danken Herrn Luis Feito für seine freundliche Unterstützung.

Provenienz: Privatsammlung Österreich.

Ausstellung: Basel 1970, Moon and Space. Galerie Beyeler, Januar - März 1970, Nr. 27 (verso mit dem Etikett).

Luis Feito wird am 31. Oktober 1929 in Madrid geboren, wo er auch heute wieder lebt. Der Spanier gehört zu den einflussreichsten Vertretern des spanischen Informel.

Er studiert an der Escuela superior de bellas artes de San Fernando, Madrid, wo er 1950 seinen Abschluss macht. Bereits 1954 hat er seine erste Ausstellung in der Galería Buchholz. Mit einem Stipendium 1953 lernt Feito Paris kennen, wohin er zwei Jahre später zieht und 25 Jahre lang bleiben wird. In Paris lernt er die Künstler des Informel wie Jean Fautrier, Hans Hartung, aber auch Serge Poliakoff, Jean Dubuffet und Mark Rothko kennen. Die neuen Eindrücke, die Künstlerkontakte und die Energie der Stadt veranlassen ihn, in seinen Gemälden mit unterschiedlichen Materialien wie Sand und Erde zu experimentieren. Aus Paris hält er aber immer Kontakt zu den Künstlern der spanischen Avantgarde und gehört zu den Gründungsmitgliedern der Gruppe "El Paso". 1981 zieht Feito erst nach Montréal und dann zwei Jahre später nach New York und kehrt in den frühen 1990er Jahren zurück nach Madrid.

Während seines Studiums danach fokussiert er sich auf die figurative Malerei, wendet sich aber mit der Entdeckung des Kubismus von dieser ab und verschreibt sich bald dem Informel. Bereits in seiner ersten Ausstellung zeigt er nur abstrakte Werke. In den späten 1950er und frühen 1960er Jahren ist seine Farbpalette ausschliesslich Schwarz und Weiss, mit Schattierungen in Grau oder Ocker. Verstärkt nutzt er Materialien wie Sand und Erde, um einen pastosen Farbauftrag, der charakteristisch für sein reifes Werk ist, zu erzielen. Durch die pastose, unregelmässige Oberfläche kann er das Verhältnis zwischen Licht, Oberfläche, Farbe und Form in seinen Werken erforschen. In den 1960er Jahren fügt Feito seiner Farbpalette dann noch Rot hinzu, welches teilweise die gesamte Komposition beherrscht.

Luis Feito nimmt an zahlreichen Galerie- und Museumsausstellungen weltweit teil. Viermal
(1956/1958/1960 und 1968) werden seine Werke auf der Biennale in Venedig ausgestellt, zweimal in Sao Paulo, und 1959 ist er auf der documenta in Kassel vertreten. 2002 organisiert die Reina Sofía eine Wander-Retrospektive. Er wird 1985 zum Offizier und 1993 zum Knight Commander des Ordre des Arts et Letters de France ernannt.

Das vorliegende Werk „No. 206“ stammt aus dem Jahr 1960, als Feitos Farbpalette von Schwarz und Weiss dominiert wird. Aus einem tiefschwarzen Raum leuchtet im linken Bildrand eine weisse Form, die den linken Rand mit zu erhellen scheint. Es scheint fast so als schiebe sich ein Lichtpunkt hinter einer schwarzen Wolke hervor. Die pastose Arbeitsweise mit den dunklen Farben lässt fast an eine Kraterlandschaft denken. Der meisterliche Einsatz der pastosen Flächen gibt dem Werk eine unglaubliche Tiefe und Dynamik.

CHF 18 000 / 24 000

€ 15 790 / 21 050

Verkauft für CHF 51 540 (inkl. Aufgeld)
Angaben ohne Gewähr