Lot 3229 - A199 Impressionist & Modern Art - Friday, 03. December 2021, 04.00 PM

PAUL KLEE

(Münchbuchensee 1879–1940 Muralto)
Kleine Gartenecke. 1931.
Oil and wax colours on paper on artist's board.
Signed upper right: Klee.
Dated, inscribed and titled lower centre on the artist's board: 1931. W12. kl. Gartenecke.
16.5 × 14 cm.

Provenance:
- Rudolf Probst, Galerie Neue Kunst Fides/Das Kunsthaus, Dresden/Mannheim, 1932/33.
- Lily Klee collection, Bern, 1940–45.
- Galerie Rosengart, Lucerne, 1945/46.
- Curt Valentin, Buchholz Gallery/Valentin Gallery, Berlin/New York, from 1946.
- Clifford Odets, New York, until 1954.
- Saidenberg Gallery, New York, from 1954 (label on the reverse).
- Galerie Georges Moos, Geneva.
- Swiss private collection, by descent from the above and owned by the family for three generations.

Exhibited:
- Lucerne 1945, Paul Klee zum Gedächtnis, Galerie Rosengart, 15.7.–15.9.1945, no. 26.
- New York 1954, Paul Klee. An Exhibition of Paintings and Drawings commemorating the 75th Anniversary of his Birth, Saidenberg Gallery, 8.3.–26.4.1954, no. 24.
- Geneva 1973, Art du XXe siècle - Collections genevoises, Musée Rath et Cabinet des Estampes, 28.6.–23.9.1973, no. 73 (label on the reverse).

Literature:
Paul-Klee-Stiftung and Kunstmuseum Bern (eds.): Catalogue raisonné Paul Klee, vol. 6 (1913–1918), Bern 2000, p. 148, no. 5657 (with ill.).

From May to August 2008 the Zentrum Paul Klee, in collaboration with the Bergen Art Museum and the Henie Onstad Art Centre, devoted an entire exhibition titled "In Paul Klee’s Enchanted Garden” to the theme of nature in Paul Klee's life and work. Nature-its plants and landscape-are without a doubt a central motif that runs as a common thread from Klee's early work through to his later work.

In addition to Klee's passion for the Swiss landscape, which he would explore with his father on various weekend hikes, his interest in the world of plants and flowers had been fostered from an early age. He worked in the garden himself, planting seeds and bulbs, watering them with his own hands and watching them grow. He collected various types of flowers, which he would dry, study in detail and store in a herbarium. He observed the vegetation and flora in his parents' garden, in the area around Bern with the Aare River, in the parks and gardens of Wörlitz and Weimar, in the botanical gardens abroad and along the more distant coasts of the Mediterranean and the North Sea, all of which served as sources of inspiration.

In 1931 Klee left the Bauhaus to take up a professorship at the art academy in Düsseldorf. He rented a room in Düsseldorf, but kept his apartment in Dessau and commuted back and forth between both studios every two weeks. During those eventful and changing times, nature and art remained a constant for him.

The present work ‘Kleine Gartenecke’ was created in that same year. Klee’s captivating, thick application of coloured paste imparts the small composition with the character of a painting. The work went to the USA in the 1940s through Curt Valentin, one of the most important American dealers of Klee works, and finally returned to Switzerland nearly 10 years later through the Geneva gallerist Georges Moos.

CHF 100 000 / 150 000

€ 93 460 / 140 190

Sold for CHF 100 000 (including buyer’s premium)
All information is subject to change.

Lot 3229 - A199 Impressionismus & Moderne - Freitag, 03. Dezember 2021, 16.00 Uhr

PAUL KLEE

(Münchenbuchsee 1879–1940 Muralto)
Kleine Gartenecke. 1931.
Öl und Wachsfarbe auf Papier auf Künstlerkarton.
Oben rechts signiert: Klee.
Unten mittig auf dem Künstlerkarton datiert, bezeichnet und betitelt: 1931 W. 12. kl. Gartenecke.
16,5 × 14 cm.

Provenienz:
- Rudolf Probst, Galerie Neue Kunst Fides/Das Kunsthaus, Dresden/Mannheim, 1932/33.
- Sammlung Lily Klee, Bern, 1940–45.
- Galerie Rosengart, Luzern, 1945/46.
- Curt Valentin, Buchholz Gallery/Valentin Gallery, Berlin/New York, ab 1946.
- Clifford Odets, New York, bis 1954.
- Saidenberg Gallery, New York, ab 1954 (verso mit Etikett).
- Galerie Georges Moos, Genf.
- Schweizer Privatsammlung, durch Erbschaft von Obigem erhalten und seit drei Generationen in Familienbesitz.

Austellungen:
- Luzern 1945, Paul Klee zum Gedächtnis, Galerie Rosengart, 15.7–15.9.1945, Nr. 26.
- New York 1954, Paul Klee. An Exhibition of Paintings and Drawings commemorating the 75th Anniversary of his Birth, Saidenberg Gallery, 8.3.–26.4.1954, Nr. 24.
- Genf 1973, Art du XXe siècle - Collections genevoises, Musée Rath et Cabinet des Estampes, 28.6.–23.9.1973, Nr. 73 (verso mit Etikett).

Literatur:
Paul-Klee-Stiftung und Kunstmuseum Bern (Hrsg.): Catalogue raisonné Paul Klee, Bd. 6 (1931–1933), Bern 2000, S. 148, Nr. 5657 (mit Abb.).

Von Mai bis August 2008 widmete das Zentrum Paul Klee in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bergen Art Museum und dem Henie Onstad Art Centre eine Ausstellung unter dem Titel "In Paul Klees Zaubergarten" dem Thema Natur in Pauls Klees Leben und Werk. Die Natur, die Pflanzen und die Landschaft sind also zweifelsohne ein zentrales Thema in der Kunst Paul Klees, das sich als roter Faden von seinem Frühwerk bis hin zum Spätwerk zieht.

Neben Klees Leidenschaft für die schweizerische Landschaft, die er zusammen mit seinem Vater auf verschiedenen Wochenend-Wanderungen erkundet, interessiert es sich bereits von klein auf für die Welt der Pflanzen und Blumen. Er betätigt sich selbst im Garten, pflanzt Samen und Knollen, giesst eigenhändig und beobachtet sie beim Wachstum. Er sammelt unterschiedliche Blütenarten, die er dann trocknet, genauer studiert und zu einem Herbarium zusammenstellt. Klee betrachtet die Vegetation und Flora des Gartens seines Elternhauses, der Umgebung in Bern mit der Aare, die Parks und Gärten in Wörlitz und Weimar, die botanischen Gärten im Ausland und die ferneren Küsten am Mittelmeer und an der Nordsee, die ihm allesamt als Inspirationsquelle dienen.

1931 verlässt Klee das Bauhaus, um eine Stelle der Professur an der Kunstakademie in Düsseldorf anzutreten. Er mietet sich ein Zimmer in Düsseldorf, behaltet aber gleichzeitig seine Unterkunft in Dessau und pendelt zwischen den beiden Ateliers im 2 Wochentakt hin- und her. In dieser ereignisreichen und von vielen Wechseln geprägten Zeit bleibt ihm die Natur und die Kunst eine Konstante.

Das vorliegende Werk "Kleine Gartenecke" entsteht in selbigem Jahr. Die kleinformatige Darstellung besticht durch ihren kleisterhaften, dicken Farbauftrag, der dem Werk einen gemäldehaften Charakter verleiht. Über Curt Valentin, einer der wichtigsten amerikanischen Händler Klees, gelangte das Werk in den 1940er-Jahren in die USA und schliesslich knapp 10 Jahre später durch den Genfer Galeristen Georges Moos wieder in die Schweiz.

CHF 100 000 / 150 000

€ 93 460 / 140 190

Verkauft für CHF 100 000 (inkl. Aufgeld)
Angaben ohne Gewähr