Lot 3781 - A189 Prints & Multiples - Saturday, 29. June 2019, 10.00 AM

ANDY WARHOL

(Pittsburgh 1928 - 1987 New York)
Apple. 1985.
Colour screenprint. 165/190. Signed in pencil lower right: Andy Warhol. Sheet size 96.5 x 96.5 cm on Lenox Museum Board. Published by Ronald Feldman Fine Arts, New York (with the blindstamp). Printed by Rupert Jasen Smith, New York (with the blindstamp).
From the 10-part portfolio "Ads".

Provenance:
- Cobra Fine Art, San Francisco.
- Purchased from the above in 1991 by the present owner, since then private collection Switzerland.

Catalogue raisonné: Feldman/Schellmann, no. II.359.

In 1985 the 10-part portfolio “Ads” was created, in which Andy Warhol explicitly addressed the topic of advertising. He used official logos and advertisements from companies and films as the basis of his works. In 1976, Apple, now a global corporation, was founded by Steve Jobs, Steve Wozniak and Ron Wayne, and through its technology but also its design, by the 1980s the personal computer became a mass-produced object. The apple as trademark was, and still is today, one of the most well-known and distinctive trademarks worldwide. Apple’s claim that it would make the computer accessible to the masses and establish the company as a brand, corresponds to Warhol’s idea of bringing the icons of consumer society into art – which is definitely the case with Apple. It is therefore no surprise that “Apple” also found its way into his oeuvre.

With his Pop Art Andy Warhol revolutionised art and is undoubtedly one of the most important and influential artists of the 20th century. He brought art into the world of every one of us and made it accessible to everyone, by using well known everyday objects and elevating them to art objects in his works, often through series of works. The same applied to techniques: Warhol made no distinction and saw no difference in value between painting, drawing or graphic art. He used the technique, that often being the silk screen, which enabled the best and widest dissemination of his art.

CHF 50 000 / 70 000

€ 43 860 / 61 400

Sold for CHF 110 100 (including buyer’s premium)
All information is subject to change.

Lot 3781 - A189 Grafik & Multiples - Samstag, 29. Juni 2019, 10.00 Uhr

ANDY WARHOL

(Pittsburgh 1928 - 1987 New York)
Apple. 1985.
Farbserigrafie. 165/190. Unten rechts mit Bleistift signiert: Andy Warhol. Blattmass 96,5 x 96,5 cm auf Lenox Museum Board. Erschienen bei Ronald Feldman Fine Arts, New York (mit dem Blindstempel). Gedruckt bei Rupert Jasen Smith, New York (mit dem Blindstempel).
Aus dem 10-teiligen Portfolio "Ads".

Provenienz:
- Cobra Fine Art, San Francisco.
- Bei obiger Galerie 1991 vom heutigen Besitzer erworben, seitdem Privatsammlung Schweiz.

Werkverzeichnis: Feldman/Schellmann, Nr. II.359.

1985 entsteht das 10-teilige Portfolio „Ads“, in dem sich Andy Warhol explizit dem Thema Werbung widmet. Er nutzt offizielle Logos und Werbeanzeigen von Firmen und Filmen als Grundlage für seine Werke. 1976 wird der heutige Weltkonzern Apple von Steve Jobs, Steve Wozniak und Ron Wayne gegründet und macht durch seine Technologie, aber auch sein Design den Personal Computer in den 1980er zu einer Massenware. Der Apfel als Markenzeichen gehörte und gehört noch heute zu den weltweit bekanntesten und prägendsten Markenzeichen. Den Anspruch von Apple den Computer „massentauglich“ zu machen und die Firma als Marke zu etablieren, entspricht Warhols Idee Ikonen der Konsumgesellschaft – und das ist Apple definitiv – in die Kunst zu holen. Von daher verwundert es nicht, dass auch „Apple“ den Weg in sein Oeuvre gefunden hat.

Andy Warhol hat mit seiner Pop-Art die Kunst revolutioniert und gehört zweifelsfrei zu den wichtigsten und einflussreichsten Künstlern des 20. Jahrhundert. Er holt die Kunst in die Welt eines jeden von uns und macht sie jedem zugänglich, in dem er allseits bekannte Alltagsgegenstände nutzt und sie durch die oftmals serielle Verwendung in seinen Werken zu Kunstobjekten erhebt. Das gleiche trifft auch auf die Technik zu: Warhol macht keine Unterschiede oder Wertungen zwischen Malerei, Zeichnung und Druckgrafik. Er nutzt die Technik, und oftmals ist es die Seriegrafie, die ihm beste und grösste Verbreitung seiner Kunst ermöglicht.

CHF 50 000 / 70 000

€ 46 730 / 65 420

Verkauft für CHF 110 100 (inkl. Aufgeld)
Angaben ohne Gewähr